We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly, not worth it”
Review of Market Grill

Market Grill
Ranked #134 of 4,168 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
sgirlie
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sadly, not worth it”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I've eaten here several times, but waited to post a review. I don't want to be negative about a small business at the Market, which I love. But my meals have always been the same - dried out, flavorless fish on an oddly chewy baguette. I kept hoping they'd cook the salmon better, but they never did. It costs $16.80 for a sandwich and soda, and is completely overpriced for what you get.

I'm really sorry to post this, but today was the last straw.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    41
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A tasty lunch in the market”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

How can you go wrong: fresh wild salmon grilled and served on a crusty baguette, everything fresh from the market. The clam chowder and coleslaw are also good. It's a bit pricey for a sandwich combo, but given the quality of the ingredients and the setting right in the market, it still makes for a very good casual lunch

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JimBCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cool little place with pricey sandwiches”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

I had the halibut sandwich, which was nice, but small. Not worth the $16 excl tax I paid for it. I didn't try the chowder but it seemed more reasonably priced.

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Delicious Chowder; Not so clean ambiance”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Three rating due to ambiance. Located inside Pikes Public Market. Went due to Tripadvisor reviews and other review sites. Got there very near closing. Seats available. Chowder was only thing available. Delicious. The area around the grill and the 'kitchen' area were not so clean. Would I return? Probably earlier in the day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank slowee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“best lunch at the Market!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a great place to eat and soak up the Market atmosphere. It's simple food, but super-fresh and well-prepared. Don't be put off by the tiny space or the few seats--just wait a few minutes and a seat will open up, faster than you think!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsMaryMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Market Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing