We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dockside seafood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chinook's

Chinook's
Ranked #52 of 4,059 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great dockside seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Fantastic service overlooking the beautiful marina. High quality food as well (the crab cakes were fantastic). And be sure to save room for dessert -- the peach slum and raspberry cobbler were amazing!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SharkATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    134
    35
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
272 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good, but it has been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been here a number of times and my experiences on previous visits have been good. This visit left some things to be desired. First, the location is wonderful and the view of Fisherman's Warf is perfect. It was 7:30 on Saturday night and it was busy; a 45 minutes wait and that was not a problem. They do not take reservation because they don't have to. I was in a party of 8 and we were seated along the window. Very good. Why am I a little troubled by this visit? It was loud in the restaurant and people had to talk loud just to be heard across the table; not down the table, across the table. Our wait went through the motions and it was obvious. I had pan fried oysters and they were good, not great, but good. The french fries that came with the oysters left much to be desired. In the end, since I know what this restaurant has been, I just felt that the experience was very middle of the road. There was nothing special about this previously good restaurant, and I chalked it up to personnel that went through the motion, with food that was passable. You could do worse at other restaurants, but you could also do better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rogerjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were happy with dinner here. We ate outside and the view onto the marina is fantastic! Service was excellent and the food was very good. While we were there, we saw many other families with kids, many in the 5-10yrs age group. This was our first dinner at a local establishment and we were happy with everything. Prices are about the same level as Cheesecake Factory.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spinnaker802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
126 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Chinook's @ Salmon Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our table was located along the windows facing the Bay, which made for nicer dining. We ordered the Chargrilled Teriyaki Chicken, Clams & Muscles Linguine, and two of our party ordered the Sockeye Salmon on an Alder Plank. The basket of garlic bread that the waiter brings to each table is some of the best we've tasted -- we asked for another basket! Our favorite restaurant on this trip to Seattle, due to the food, the service and the location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clp2csp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Crab and blackberry cobbler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Been eating here since they opened in 1988 and loved it ever since. Get there around sunset for an outdoor seat overlooking the fishing boats. Do not miss the cobbler. It is the best I have ever tasted. Make sure to order it at the start of your meal as they run out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chinook's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing