We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ersatz Pub”
Review of Elephant & Castle

Elephant & Castle
Ranked #209 of 4,111 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: We are your favorite neighborhood pub for dining, drinking and gathering. We are famous for our fish and chips, great beer and the warmth of genuine smiles. E&C's menu has its roots firmly planted in traditional English fare, featuring such pub classics as Shepherd's Pie, Bangers and Mash and Stuffed Yorkshire Pudding. The menu is rounded out by a wide variety of North American comfort foods and sophisticated offerings from around the world. E&C's drink offerings provide guests with a significant selection of beer, wine and spirits. At its core is the Love of Beer program that focuses on serving the perfect imperial pint of a variety of local craft and import beers. As such, E&C is the preferred destination for guests who appreciate a well-crafted beer.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ersatz Pub”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

In the basement of our hotel, OK bar food, like soup, salad, and burgers. Totally out of keeping with the contemporary Motif above.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ArthurBlank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    122
    73
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Connersville, Indiana, Usa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food and atmoshere”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We went to lunch at this restaurant after landing in SeaTac and checking in to the Crowne Plaza downtown. It was about a 10 minute walk, which was nice to see sights and learn what was around you. At first I worried about the service, but the waiter then got help and everything was wonderful. We were a group of 8 and some had some beers on tap which they liked, some ordered there onion soup, AWESOME. Then what we came for Fish & Chips, not disappointed as they were delicious. Others in our party got the Rueben was good but I thought fish & chips were better. Prices and selection very good for the area. Even kids liked it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“English Pub near Westlake Mall District”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We were advised by Duck Boat employees to try this bar/restaurant for lunch. It is actually part of the Red Lion Hotel. The food, drinks & atmosphere was good, but nothing memorable. It was a couple blocks from the mall & across the street from City Centre. The waitstaff was friendly, but gave us some else's bill. There was a good bar area & lots of tv's to watch World Cup soccer.

Helpful?
Thank Mion6028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun pub eating in Seattle!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Walked in here to have dinner on a whim. Nice pub like atmosphere and great outdoor seating. Had French Canadian poutine (french fries smothered in gravy with cheese curds on top) for the very first time here and it was surprisingly delicious. Followed with a French dip style roast beef sandwich. My brother ordered a craft beer and shared poutine with me. Very casual, English pub type decor. A great stop for pub style food and beer in downtown Seattle.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Calm and relaxed atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The food was excellent. I had the Reuben - the best I have ever had! I love this place. The next time I'm in Seattle, this will be my first stop.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bmb0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant & Castle also viewed

 

Been to Elephant & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing