We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a treat”

Duke's Chowder House Lake Union
Reserve with OpenTable
Duke's Chowder House Lake Union is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 4,094 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Lake Union
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The only bad thing about Dukes, is the line, and that says something right there about how good their food is. We've eaten here a few times on or travels through Seattle, and always enjoy the atmosphere and the food at Dukes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kjay_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    194
    60
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Seafood Restaurant That is Family Friendly”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

While, it is certainly pricey to eat here, it was a good splurge for us with a busy 4 year old. The restaurant was noisy and unpretentious so we didn't have to worry as much about our son making noise. The kids menu was one of the best I've seen, with much more than the typical mac n cheese and chicken nuggets. Our waitress, Emily, was very nice and attentive. My husband and I each had a halibut entree. My raspberry halibut was yummy, but verged on overcooked. I noticed later how thirsty I was, so know there must have been a ton of salt in our meals.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenniferigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Original Chowda”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We are "chowda" people..clam,milk,hold the bacon, corn, spice...heavy on the clams, milk,butter,clam broth....Duke's did Not disappoint ..but A Vat would have been nice...3 sizes and bread...to die for....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank joyce s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“WAY to expensive for what you get.”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My halibut stuffed with crab was extremely tough and chewy. My mother's halibut fish and chips could barely be cut into with a knife. So not worth the very expensive bill that came. Go next door to Chandler's or Daniels!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SashaR92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great atmoshephere and good food”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I shared the sampler of chowders which we though was very interesting. Then each had a plate of halibut which were very tasty. Service was good, felt like vacation. Nice to be by the water without the crowd. Great meal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bibidevmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke's Chowder House Lake Union also viewed

 

Been to Duke's Chowder House Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing