We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, convenient”

Mamma Melina Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Mamma Melina Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #131 of 4,096 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: University District
Cross street: Blakeley
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tasty, convenient”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you are staying in the University District, this is a great option. Food and service are good, ambiance festive. Just worked.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    62
    19
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A nice surprise!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were in the mood for Italian food and found this great "local" restaurant across the street from our hotel. When we were greeted at the front door (by one of the family?) he asked if we had a reservation. Nope. What we didn't know was that this evening was packed with patrons heading to a Washington U. basketball game. He asked if we could wait "a few minutes" so they could accommodate us. Yep. It didn't take long before getting a table. The service - especially under the circumstances - was terrific, ditto for the food and drink. We would return n a heartbeat if in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NarrowMindedJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
301 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Jekyll and Hyde Restaurant”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

If I were just reporting on my meal, I'd give them a 4, not a 3. My crab salad contained a generous amount of fresh Dungeness crab over baby arugula with a lemony dressing--yummy! The saffron risotto with prawns featured gigantic prawns, perfectly grilled, over a tasty risotto flecked with asparagus pieces. Delicious! The olive oil cake was nice and moist but still light and the accompanying basil ice cream contained just the right amount of basil. But my husband, on the other hand, had a terrible experience. Upon the hearty recommendation by our waitress, he opted for the cioppino, a special that night. The flavors were good, but the soup was served only lukewarm and the accompanying toast was burnt. When he asked the waitress for replacement toast, she evidently did not deliver his request to the kitchen, because she returned about 10 minutes later and asked him if he still wanted fresh toast. By this time, the soup, which he wanted to dunk his toast in, was completely cold. We'd already had some trouble with the waitress earlier--we had changed tables almost immediately after arriving and had not taken the wine list with us. While we were ordering, we asked for another wine list. She promised to bring it, but we didn't get it until after our salads had arrived. I would go again, but am not sure I could persuade my husband to come with me, which is a shame, since the restaurant is within walking distance of our house.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paokano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were a table of 5 for dinner. The service started out good but went downhill quickly, for example our meals came before our drinks. My daughter had the ravioli, there were 6 pieces of ravioli on her plate, if that's the average portion for this dish you'd need to order a few. We were not looking for "olive Garden" type of stuff yourself meal just real authentic Italian, we were so disappointed. My husband's meal came out cold, not luke warm but cold, they took it back to make him a new one and by the time he received it the rest of us were done. The only one who enjoyed their meal was our 16 year old who ordered a shrimp dish. I always find such great ideas on this forum, unfortunately this was a miss for us.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bc_redhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest Park, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding Italian in University District”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I've now been to Mamma Melina several times and have always had an excellent experience. The service is very good, polite, attentive, helpful. The food is outstanding. Well made, fresh, reasonable prices. Their three-course lunch is a wonderful bargain and the food is great. Plus free parking.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theimerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Melina Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Melina Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing