We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”
Review of La Carta de Oaxaca

La Carta de Oaxaca
Ranked #305 of 4,098 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Ballard
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
294 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Browsing among the incredibly unique shops in Ballard, we stopped here for lunch. The place was packed but we managed to snag two choice seats at the counter. Somewhat noisy (not a place for quiet conversation) but it more than makes up for this with the f-a-b-u-l-o-u-s food! Fresh hand made tortillas are included with most menu items. We watched the fresh tortillas being prepared right in front of us. We started with chips and guacamole and then on to halibut tacos (for me) and vegetarian tostadas (for my husband). Service is quick and friendly. My tacos were over the top! We'll be back! Tremendous value. We noted that a Azteca location around the corner (one of the biggest chains of Mexican restaurants in Seattle) was now boarded up and closed. No wonder with such first rate Mexican food just a few feet away at La Carta de Oaxaca! :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mascalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    53
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I almost hate to review this place!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Ok so I put May as the month I went but I go here at least twice a month and for the past two years! The halibut and carne asada tacos and the spicy tequila are my favorite but you can't go wrong with anything on the menu. But please don't come on Thursdays so I can still get a seat at the bar!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cyprusgirl1269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I have visited here twice. Both times we had very good food and good service. The restaurant is very small and the seating is tight, so be prepared to wait for a seat and to be able to hear your neighbors complete conversation. If you're looking for a place to have a romantic Mexican dinner this is not it.

So like I said their food is very good I do believe there is better Mexican at some other local establishments.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth the extra trip”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

It is outside Seattle in Ballard but it is worth the quick trip! Plus Ballard is a great area and if you have the chance to explore you shouldn't miss it. Cool shops and restaurants etc. La Carta is hole in the wall, family cooking at it's best. We sat at the counter because as always it was busy but we watched them making their homemade tortillas during our meal so it turned out to be wonderful. Wanted to try something new but couldn't pass up the chilles rellenos but I promise to try something new next time. They have a salsa bar that you can try from mild to hot hot! Be prepared for busy but delicious!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Muy bueno”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great ambiance, excellent food, speedy service. Love the black mole, it's so rich and velvety, it is truly sublime. And the fresh tortillas are delicious.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carta de Oaxaca also viewed

 

Been to La Carta de Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing