We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wait”
Review of La Carta de Oaxaca

La Carta de Oaxaca
Ranked #328 of 4,094 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Ballard
Seattle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Amazing food, inexpensive, lively ambiance. If you can gather up 10 friends up can make a reservation for their back room which is awesome. I think it fits up to 24 people? They don't take reservations otherwise.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Atsea11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    52
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not for a leisurely meal”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Fresh salsa bar. We got there early, but the place was filled quickly. Food was good, reasonable, but because of the crowd, service was rushed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank pearls60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nice simple Mexican food. Delicious, fresh and served quickly.
Salsa bar has a selection of additional salsas for your chips.

Helpful?
Thank mc423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What's the fuss?”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is widely lauded as the Best Mexican Place In Seattle. We frankly have no idea what the fuss is all about.

The chips and guac appetizer was so amazing that we thought we were in for a really special meal. But things went downhill fast from there. The dinner that followed was poorly assembled, uninspired, and in the case of my plate (the entomatada) pretty much inedible. And I don't know how you can mess up sangria, but they managed that, too.

Furthermore: the service was hurried, surly and ungracious. And the room is clearly designed for fast turnover rather than lingering -- noisy and closely packed with too-small tables and uncomfortable chairs. They don't want you hanging around.

Given the line outside (we waited 45 minutes for this), that strategy makes some sense, I guess. But at these prices, we're not paying to be treated like we're at Taco Bell.

All our friends are still raving. But we're not going back. If you're looking for good Mexican in Ballard that's actually worth the wait, give Senor Moose a try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedAhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tried it again and still disappointed.”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

To be fair, I would be put off by the noise level even if everything else was perfect - which it is not. The portion size is small, and while normally a tapas fan, not so much at entree prices. The food was tasty but nothing extradinary. Probably its strongest point it is not the typical Mexican chain restaurant fare. The margaritas were good. It's worth noting that the bar is tiny. There were five stools and four people standing and it was at capacity. If you are looking for something a bit different, a small plate and a decent margarita, try it out. Just keep in mind you will be arm to arm with the diner at the next table and conversation is challenging unless you go at off hours.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carta de Oaxaca also viewed

 

Been to La Carta de Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing