We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“ROMANTIC ANNIVERSARY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palisade

Palisade
Reserve with OpenTable
Palisade is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 3,983 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“ROMANTIC ANNIVERSARY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had not been here in a long time, but wanted a very special romantic place to celebrate our anniversary. We knew Palisade would be an excellent choice! The view is spectacular with ceiling to floor windows overlooking Puget Sound and the Seattle Skyline. As an added bonus, it was a sailboat race night and so many beautiful boats were all around. Our table was at the window, and the ambiance was wonderful. Our server was very friendly and paced our dinner to us. As for the menu--incredible! The specialty cocktails were wonderful. Our dinner was absolutely scrumptious! From the warm bread to the jumbo shrimp, salad/soup, to the pork tenderloins, well, my mouth is watering just at the memory! Who had room for dessert!! Even if you are just visiting for a day, or live here--try this restaurant--you will love everything about it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debandharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    121
    63
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sfo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great view. Fabulous experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I are not foodies but we like great restaurants. You will not be disappointed.

Tremendous ambiance. Goldilocks vibe...not too quiet, not too loud...HUGE expansive room with floor to ceiling windows. We got lucky and got a window but there's not many bad tables.

Great service. Prompt but gave us space. Great recommendations.

Food & Wine--killer crab and lobster dip (was a favorite on Yelp). The seafood is pricey ($40/plate) so I went more turf..wife went shrimp route..both were very good. Wine list was solid and reasonable. Both were really good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank techguy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hasn't improved”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We started by taking my own advice and stopped in the bar for a quick drink and snack (previously I had suggested staying away from dining here and just having drinks to enjoy the view.) Unfortunately, we had been sailing all day and decided to have dinner after all. Things have not improved at this once very good restaurant. We seated ourselves at one of about 10 tables in the bar, with only 1 other couple in the bar at 6pm on a holiday evening. We had to ask for menus and ordered a bottle of wine. The bottle arrived, was opened, and left with two empty wine glasses?? We don’t have a problem with pouring our own – if this were a pub – but at an upscale restaurant one normally expects the wine to be served. We then ordered dinner. Salads arrived, no utensils; utensils arrived, no napkins; asked for water – gave up. Mains arrived and halibut was very tasty but the sauces were very odd for halibut, bright yellow and tobasco flavored (HOT) and did not work with halibut. My wife’s salmon was well done and ruined. We overheard an adjacent table with the same issue – salmon over cooked. We asked for the bill after a considerable wait. Of course, there were now all of 3 tables filled in the bar so why would you expect good service. The prices are ridiculous for the poor service and bad food quality. With the great view and location, we just hope the restaurant will go broke soon and have a replacement restaurant with higher standards soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Boscorelli53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
111 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“When in Seattle you must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Your trip to Seattle would not be complete without a visit to Palisade restaurant at Elliott Bay Marina below the cliffs of Magnolia. Sitting on the edge of Smith Cove, Palisade provide a magnificent view of the Seattle skyline, great any day, and spectacular at night. Entering the restaurant you will be impressed with the live aquarium which contains most of the species found in Elliott Bay, including salmon, dungeness crab and shrimp. And then there is the wonderful food prepared by inspired chefs. Must have items include: Dungeness crab cakes; Yellowtail Maki Roll; Apple Smoked Salmon Chowder; and when in season, Copper River Salmon Belly - YUMMY!

I have taken several guests to Palisade and never had a bad experience, and impressed everyone. I can't recommend Palisade too highly. Love it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RG S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Prime View.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

The location is excellent. On a clear day, one can look across Elliott Bay towards downtown Seattle and it's iconic space needle. Further east and south, Mt. Rainier is absolutely beautiful. The restaurant itself has a very open feel. Very casual. No white linen on the table though which was surprising to me. Service was efficient and friendly.
Food was fine. Seafood was cooked well, seasoned well, presented well. There was no wow factor however. There was nothing original which was ok since I was more enthralled with the view. Giving it 4 stars mainly because of the view. Worth the trip out in Magnolia on a gorgeous summer day. Try the very inexpensive 3-course lunch and early dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gingerinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palisade also viewed

 

Been to Palisade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing