We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but make sure your tip meets their expectations.”
Review of Golden Singha

Golden Singha
Ranked #197 of 4,132 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Neighborhood: Belltown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Belltown
Kamloops, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food, but make sure your tip meets their expectations.”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The food here really is fantastic, but we made the mistake of tipping 15% instead of the 20% the waiter was expecting. If you google tipping practice in the Usa, you will find 15% is still the standard tip even though some higher end restaurants are pushing for up to 25%. Ok, that's fine as long as the customer is made aware of their expectations, and it indeed a higher end restaurant. Well, upon paying our bill and taking our leave, the waiter confronted us and demanded more tip, saying he was nice to us so we should give him more money for this. It was extremely embarrassing, and soured our dining experience. He did not get more money, and we left. I think this tipping custom is getting out of hand. I wish North American restaurants would take a hint from their European counterparts and just add the tip to the bill and everybody is happy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    52
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice Hole in the Wall”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Golden Singha was a nice little hole in the wall place that served up a very fresh, healthy meal. One bonus is that it is near the Space Needle, but not a touristy joint. Very fast, friendly service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Conquistadores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackamas, OR
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stopped here for a quick meal before a concert - arrived at 5:00pm and were leaving restaurant 30 minutes later. The noodle soup, Singha curry and Dragon's mustache were all very good. The Pad Sei-ew was average (great noodle texture though). Very nice waitstaff. Portion size is big for price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jkmeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fried tofu appetizer was spectacular, entrees were good though not excellent”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I would rate this restaurant 3.5 stars if I could; 3 is a little low and 4 is a little high. We loved the appetizer, as you can see from my title. The entrees weren't bad, but as fairly regular diners at Thai restaurants we prefer rich flavors and hot spices. With the panang tofu, the sauce wasn't very richly-spiced, and with the rama noodle dish, the peanut sauce (which was very good) sort of drowned the other ingredients. The prices were very reasonable and the serving sizes were fine. Considering the other dining options in the Space Needle area of Seattle, I would visit this restaurant again if I were nearby.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank emilyg28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Pad Thai”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This little place has a nice atmosphere and good service. Portion size was big, but I was pretty hungry so no leftovers. Price was fair for the amount of food I was given.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MLew168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Singha also viewed

 

Been to Golden Singha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing