We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price-y Sushi”
Review of Shiro's

Shiro's
Ranked #64 of 4,110 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $32
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Belltown
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Price-y Sushi”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

My son showed me a video of the famous Sukuyabashi Jiro restaurant in Japan with Anthony Bourdain eating sushi prepared by the 80 year old master. Shiro appeared in the video and he is now owner of this Seattle restaurant in his name, on 2nd Avenue. We knew to make reservations ahead of time, and to get there early if you want one of the 11 seats at the sushi bar to experience Omekase, chef's choice. We were first in line at 4:30pm and by the time the doors opened at 5:30pm there was a huge line behind us. We decided that we were going to let the chef serve anything and everything and we would be open to eating it. We noted about 100 different sushi items. We were 3 people: one ate 12 pieces (and miso soup), and two of us ate 30 pieces each. Guess what the bill was for the 73 pieces and 2 hand rolls? $289.35 + 27.49 tax= $316.84 Some sushi were typically priced ($2.75 to 4.95 each ) but others were price-y (Fatty Tuna at $7.50 each, Chu-toro at $5.75, Shiro's Wrap Hand Roll at 6.50, and Sea Urchin Hand Roll at $7.50) The fish was fresh and definitely the place to try new, and for me it was Abelone, Geoduck, Octupus, Smelt, Squid, Herring, Oyster, but most daring: Deep Fried Shrimp Heads. It took a minute to overcome chewing it with the beady eyes and spindly legs but it was crunchy and the delicious fried taste masked fears and my thoughts. So, was it worth it? We advise you ASK QUESTIONS first--no information if offered to describe Omekase. The chef merely says eat till you are no longer hungry.. just don't be surprised at the bill; there are no prices on the order sheet. . So...You'll have to be the judge!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    85
    34
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Esterhazy, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sit at the bar”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

When you are new to a city and you want to eat great sushi , look for the restaurant with the most amount of Asian kids rating there. That's what we did and we weren't disappointed . The sushi was great, we
Sat by the bar and had whatever the chef recommended.
It was soooo good!

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious Sushi”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We called ahead for reservations at a table and ordered the tasting menu. The sushi was so good that I have since become snobbish about sushi from "regular" sushi restaurants. We didn't sit at the bar, but if we ever go back we'll try for that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lucked into a table after a cancellation!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our group showed up here at six one evening on our trip to Seattle. We were willing to wait two hours for a table, but lucked into a great table in less than an hour! Our adventurous diner had the Omakase and said he loved everything! Each of us loved our choices. It was a real treat!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ACrumpler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Freshest Sushi - Great Service”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

One of the main reasons we visited Seattle was to experience the local sea food. We had some great experiences with the more traditional offerings, and then we heard about Shiro's.

We arrived at a pretty busy time, so the wait was about 40 minutes. The hostess took my phone number and told me she would call me 10 minutes before the table was ready. We went around the corner to the Black Bottle for a glass of Champagne and the call came in just as we were finishing up. Our table was ready and waiting when we arrived 10 minutes later. Our server met us at the table, took our drink order, answered questions, and made some great recommendations. Great service!

The sushi chefs are artists delivering plated masterpieces to every customer. The "sweet shrimp" was so fresh that it was alive only minutes before it landed on our plates! The unagi was some of the best I've ever had.

This is a must-visit restaurant in Seattle.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXBeachPatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiro's also viewed

 

Been to Shiro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing