We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular - get a seat at the bar”
Review of Shiro's

Shiro's
Ranked #63 of 4,168 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $32
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Belltown
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular - get a seat at the bar”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Get a seat at the bar and Shiro will prepare his favorites that day for you. Not a cheap meal but for the best sushi I've had it is definitely worth every penny.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cullen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    87
    35
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go there as early as possible!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

It starts from 5:30pm. But either reserve early, either go there early and they can help make a reservation at around 7 ~ 8 pm. It's better to sit at the sushi bar, talking with the chef is really great!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yi Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best sushi I've ever had!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I could write a really long, detailed review on Shiro's. But I won't. Just go there. It's the best sushi I've ever had in my life (and trust me, I've eaten everywhere). Soooooo good. Do the Omakase. I would recommend a reservation, we didn't and got lucky. Someday I will return....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheHellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best sushi!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The sushi and sashimi quality was fantastic! On a recommendation from our waitress at Elliott's Oyster House, we tried Shiro's. This was true sushi and sashimi, the way they were meant to be. Such fresh fish. No fishy smell. I wish we had known about the "omakase". If you do an omakase at a table, you get a pre-fixe meal, from appetizer to dessert, for $65/person. If you do an omakase at the sushi bar, you let the chef give you whatever he wants. You can reserve a table, but not a place at the sushi bar. My husband and I plan to come back to Seattle to try the sushi bar omakase. Can't wait!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank milehimom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fresh nigiri, basic rolls.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This place came recommended to us by someone who knows Seattle restaurants, and we were not disappointed. Service was solid, and the fish very fresh. The rolls were good, but there wasn't a lot of variety or creativity on that front. If you want a seat at the bar, come early - there was a line out the door 20 people deep at 5:30 on a Sunday night - because they don't take reservations for the bar. We had a table reserved, and sat right down. The place was packed by 6pm, so call for a reservation to be sure of timely seating. I'm a big fan of rolls, so I think we'll probably go somewhere else next time, but if I were taking friends from out of town for sushi, I'd consider coming here for certain.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morpheus1041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiro's also viewed

 

Been to Shiro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing