We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“3 out of 4 meals were great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AQUA by El Gaucho

AQUA by El Gaucho
Reserve with OpenTable
AQUA by El Gaucho is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 4,024 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Broad Street
Description: Named Gayot's Top Ten Seafood Restaurants in America in 2012, AQUA by El Gaucho sparkles at the tip of Pier 70, offering Seattle's best waterfront dining experience. In addition to fantastic views and ambiance, guests are treated to the legendary El Gaucho personalized, fine-dining service and live music nightly. Our award-winning wine list, coupled with a menu highlighting fresh wild seafood preparations, as well as 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef(R) Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef(R) Brand, are all prepared on an open-pit charcoal grill in the exhibition kitchen. AQUA by El Gaucho delivers a quintessential Seattle fine dining experience.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“3 out of 4 meals were great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great service, great food except for one overcooked tuna dish. The live piano player seemed out of place for the "feel" of the restaurant, and he played Happy Birthday too many times. It appears that people tend to celebrate their birthdays here since the song was played at least 10 times during our meal. Decor and view are prime.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlueSpinnaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    120
    50
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Oh MY! Extraordinary view, service and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We asked the concierge at our hotel to recommend a restaurant near the water for dinner. He arranged our reservation and the restaurant provides a round-trip shuttle. Aqua is on Pier 70, right ON the water. It boasts an upscale, elegant atmosphere without a dress code! This is fine dining with a price tag (average entree price: $40-$45; everything is ala carte).

We were impressed the moment we walked in with the attentive staff and impeccable service. This is a seafood lover's paradise and with so many choices, it was difficult to decide. Our server, Kat, was amazing. Nick, the sommelier was very knowledgeable and recommended an exquisite wine.

My husband ordered the filet with lobster and bernaise sauce. I decided on the sea bass...oh, the sea bass. Both were cooked perfectly (best sea bass I have EVER tasted) and melted in our mouths. The wedge salad was a wonderful compliment. Live piano music, a gorgeous view of Elliot Bay and the romantic lighting made this one of our most memorable dining experiences..a highlight of our visit to the Emerald City.

Yes, we had the Baked Alaska...the show is a dramatic way to end the perfect evening, but there are other delicious options for dessert as well.

If you want a quintessential Seattle waterfront experience with elegance and something beyond the ordinary, this is definitely the place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mer57maid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Gaucho S, Public Relations Manager at AQUA by El Gaucho, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review! We are thrilled to hear enjoyed a true AQUA by El Gaucho experience. We strive to deliver unparalleled service and exceptional food to our guests and always appreciate hearing their thoughts on the experience.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at one of our locations next time you're in Seattle.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
292 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views...amazing food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was a great venue for a networking reception. The food display was incredible and the outside deck was perfect!! I feel so lucky for having been able to partake in an event at such a great place

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lkhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Gaucho S, Public Relations Manager at AQUA by El Gaucho, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review! We are thrilled to hear enjoyed a true AQUA by El Gaucho experience. We strive to deliver unparalleled service and exceptional food to our guests and always appreciate hearing their thoughts on the experience.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at one of our locations next time you're in Seattle.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Impeccable service, fabulous cuisine, great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Our dining experience was perfect in every way starting with the service. Our waiter, and all of the wait staff, was friendly, courteous and attentive without being overbearing. The food was absolutely delicious. Everything we ordered was prepared to perfection. We started with oysters on the half-shell and calamari. Both were excellent. The scallops, as an entree, were tendered, cooked perfectly, and quite large. The surf and turf was perfectly cooked, as well. The meat was delicious and the lobster tail was very ample in size. We finished it all off with the Emerald City Volcano. The flaming table side preparation was as fun to watch as the end product was delicious to eat. This is a wonderful place to have a relaxing and delicious dinner with a beautiful view of the bay.

Helpful?
Thank jiffydog75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
184 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“If you want to splurge, a great place to do so”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

A great dining experience. This is a once-a-year treat for us with friends and it never disappoints. Wonderful food, well prepared, and served beautifully. Tables spread out so you only hear your conversation, not everybody else's. A great place to take elderly friends.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Manzanitabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AQUA by El Gaucho also viewed

 

Been to AQUA by El Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing