We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Great Anniversary dinner.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Gaucho Seattle

El Gaucho Seattle
Reserve with OpenTable
El Gaucho Seattle is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #101 of 3,960 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $115
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Belltown
Cross street: Wall Street
Description: Named as "the definitive steakhouse in the country," El Gaucho's award-winning menu features 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef(R) Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef(R) brand tenderloin filets, ribs, pork, poultry and the freshest seafood, all prepared to perfection over an open bed of glowing coals in an exhibition-style kitchen. Our extensive wine list is award-winning, and happy hour menu is widely recognized as one of Seattle's best. Live music is offered nightly. El Gaucho is the Northwest's steakhouse legacy focused on old-school, tableside service. We revel in helping guests create a night to remember.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary dinner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went to El Gaucho while we were in Seattle for our 20th anniversary and had a very good dinner. They had spread rose petals on our table with a very nice Happy Anniversary note. Our waiter and the captain were excellent. We shared a 20 oz Chateaubriand with asparagus and mashed potatoes and cherries jubilee for dessert. Everything was very well done. I was surprised there were not more people there, but then again nothing was crowded anywhere we went in Seattle.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
Thank Pookiepoo216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best dinner for those special occasions.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

El Gaucho is the favorite place for anniversary dinners and birthdays. My husband and I absolutely love the chateau briand for two. The caesar salad is wonderful and prepared table side. And for desert, the banana foster is outstanding. If you're in the mood for just a happy hour, it is also a great deal, though the menu is much more limited. Always A+++ service... never disappointed with anything about El Gaucho.

Visited June 2013
Thank Gelakoska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were here for a group gathering and was very impressed with both the quality and speed of the service. I was even escorted to the bathroom. The drinks were great: I recommend the pomegranate vodka with 7-up. The food was excellent. We had bananas foster for desert and it was the best I've ever tasted.

Visited June 2013
Thank Gugirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Service excellent - food very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

A very enjoyable experience with top class service. Our main services providers Megan and Ben, could not be faulted. Megan even went to the trouble of arranging a print out of directions to our destination following the meal. Ben was attentive and very obliging. Service from both was top notch.

Meal - one of us ordered steak, the other chicken. To be honest in our case, the chicken was the better meal and a third of the cost. Whilst my peppercorn steak was very tasty, it was quite grisly and definitely not the best steak I have eaten. Now for positives, the corn side dish was amazing and the scalloped potatoes excellent. After the main course we were presented a platter of fruit, nuts and cheese, a very nice touch and then lo and behold we were advised that we were receiving a complimentary desert - we chose cherries jubilee which is cooked at the table (thanks Ben for not burning the place down). This desert for two was a good light choice.

All up, a great evening even if a tad more expensive than our usual meals and an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
Thank JCM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Gaucho S, Public Relations Manager at El Gaucho Seattle, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear JCM81,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review and give us your feedback. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed a true El Gaucho Seattle experience with us! We strive to deliver world class food and service each and every time, and we're glad to hear we hit the mark with your expectations, and that you also enjoyed the ambiance and music. We know you traveled far and have many restaurant locations; thank you for joining us. If your travels ever bring you back to Seattle, we hope to see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“tacoma el gaucho”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

we love the tacoma el gaucho. finally a wonderful resturant has come to tacoma. we dine there often or even stop by for a drink and appetizers. super service.

Visited May 2013
Thank juneaufurpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaucho Seattle also viewed


Been to El Gaucho Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing