We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Latin food with LATIN flavor”
Review of Mojito

Mojito
Ranked #621 of 4,132 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Cuban, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Latin food with LATIN flavor”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

It's a small building, so we had a 10 minute wait for dinner. The staff came out to chat with us and then we were brought inside. I was disappointed they were out of Imperial (Costa Rican beer) but the staff tried to offer me a substitute. The drinks good, nothing to rave about. The food was a different story. My boyfriend ordered a fish dish with an AMAZING tomato sauce. This sauce was FULL of flavor and everyone kept reaching for a taste! I ordered a steak dish, which also was flavored well and paired with a colorful and also flavorful sauce! My boyfriend's mom ordered a chicken dish, but it was a little overdone, but she still enjoyed it.

Overall, we would definitely come back for the food!


**Also, we went on a Friday night, so the music was loud! Fun for friends and drinks!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lousha411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Must have been an "off" night!”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We went to Mojitos on a Monday night, and were surprised to find each table full, and a 25 min. wait. After waiting the 25 min. and still not being seated, we asked to order a "Mojito platter" of appetizers to be ready once seated. After being seated, near the very noisy kitchen, we waited almost half an hour for both water, and our ordered Mojitos drinks, and another 15 min. for our pre-ordered appetizers. We received our second order but never received the 3rd or 4th items we ordered, and two hours later, asked for our bill. What little food we had was really tasty, and I'll perhaps try it again, maybe to be first in the door when they open. My companions I doubt will ever try again... as we left at 10:00 hungry...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Krisinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful cook & owner”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Located in an odd spot at the Roosevelt end o Lake City Way, you might miss this restaurant if you didn't know if was there, even if it is painted bright yellow. On a rainy day, this place will really cheer you up. The mojitos are good and the chicken sandwiich is amazing! It comes with little patties of fried plantains and a garlic sauce. The space is small and, on a really cold, snowy day, can be a bit cold because the place is mostly windows. The people are wonderful and friendly. The cook (and owner) has come out more than once to answer questions we had about the food, even telling us how to make certain things we really liked. Of course, we usually go during the day, when it's slow. He probably wouldn't be able to do that if it was busy. All in all, we love this place and visit often.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RottHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
565 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“A lively neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We walked in on a Sunday night at 7:00, and the place was jumpin' ! Wow, a live Mexican band, customers singing and dancing up a storm, and Mojitos flowing ! Very fun and festive, to say the least. It's a very small place, simply furnished and very casual. The menu had a nice variety.

The Mojitos were great. Dinner, however, was nothing special. Kind of bland, the meat a little over cooked, in the cases of both the beef and the pork. There were big servings of beans and rice, but the pork servings were realtively small. The staff, however, was very welcoming and friendly, providing good service. Drinks and entertainment seems to be more the restaurant's stong suit and it's probably a great place to come for a drink or two after work.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brier, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Caribbean food found in Seattle”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

La Casa del Mojito does not only serve outstanding mojitos, their food is also superb! I have been eating here since it opened several years ago. The menu includes dishes from Cuba, Venezuela and Colombia. I have several favorites; Cuban sandwiches, pabellón (similar to ropa vieja), bistec a caballo (also called bandeja montañera), and vaca frita. The three latter come with rice, black beans, tostones or maduros, and yuca frita. For dessert I gravitate to the tres leches cake. Of course, at least one mojito.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mojito also viewed

 
Seattle, WA
 

Been to Mojito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing