We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vegetarian food”
Review of Cafe Flora

Cafe Flora
Ranked #111 of 4,111 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian food”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a great vegetarian restaurant. We stopped here on a weeknight while travelling through Seattle. Tried to Oaxaca Tacos and Portobello Wellington. Both were good. Also had their seasonal appetizer which was good as well. Kids had a cheese pizza and pasta which was decent. Sometimes it's hard to make vegetarian food taste good without over seasoning or having it taste too bland and this restaurant did a good job of balancing that. I would eat here again if I'm in Seattle.

It was getting late for the kids, and service was a little slow. Would have been fine if I didn't have the kids with me.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Portland_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    83
    30
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Fine Dining with a Humble Attitude”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

As a vegan I’m always on the hunt for new restaurants, especially when traveling. Vegetarian/vegan food can be very predictable. The décor at Café Flora is casual and the service is friendly and unrushed but the food broke my pre-conceived notions: it was inventive and delicious. I was pleasantly surprised by every dish ordered: perfectly prepared with intricate flavors and textures. Our party of four sat in the small outdoor courtyard and started with the lemon drop cocktail and the zucchini fritters, both excellent. For dinner I highly recommend the Oaxaca Tacos; we also enjoyed the Fried Green Tomato Platter and Tomato Panzanella Salad. The Peach Blueberry Crisp for dessert was a home run. I think this is one restaurant where being adventurous will be rewarded.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripChicNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Saturday Brunch”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had a mushroom scrabbled egg dish with creamy grits. Being from the South I was a bit suspicious of getting grits in the Northwest, but was certainly pleased with the choice. Not the bowl of unseasoned flowing with butter grits you would get at a diner in the South, but a creamy, cheese laden almost smoky tasting presentation. The coffee was great as it is most places in Seattle. One person got a cinnamon bun and it looked delicious and huge. You don't have to be a vegetarian to find a great meal. We didn't have to wait but when we left there was a very long line.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat, yummy food and super cocktails.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We found this place by accident. Very friendly, the tastiest veggie food, and try the cocktails- very individual and tasty, for those who like them strong and not too sweet! A great find.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KT I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good Bye, Carnivore!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

There is a reason this restaurant is a fixture in the neighborhood. Vegetarian done WELL! As a carnivore, all I can say is leave any pre-conceived notions outside--this place is awesome! Can't miss the "French Dip" sandwich! Yummo! you would never know there is no beef here. All the items we tried were pleasantly presented and had great taste!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Flora also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing