We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spumoni Gelato to die for!”
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #97 of 4,096 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 6th Street
Transit: Metro line stops at 6th and Olive.
Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Spumoni Gelato to die for!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a lovely lunch at Il Fornaio. Everything was very fresh and tasty. But the spumoni gelato was the highlight of the meal, and I don't usually even like spumoni or gelato .. I am now a convert. The restaurant is downtown, with an entrance downstairs via one of the major streets across from Nordstroms, or upstairs, via a shopping mall - making it very convenient.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DickandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    187
    87
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Trip to Pacific Northwest”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Close location to our hotel. The restaurant is very nice and the food was great. Had a very nice dinner.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank swm4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Authentic & Delicious”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

What a wonderful find!! Authentic, delicious, and a GREAT VALUE! It was Saturday evening in downtown Seattle & it was surprising that more people weren't flocking to this wonderful, relaxed, yet classy restaurant. The pasta is made fresh in-house, and in addition to the more traditional sauces, there are other fresh options definately worth trying. Their treatment of the more traditional Caesar salad (insulate Cesarina) for example, was fantastic... Properly dressed & including some hard-boiled egg and sliced Roma tomatoes, along with a generous helping of fresh, imported Romano cheese. This place is just hard to beat if you are in the mood for some fine authentic Italian food. With suburb quality, excellent service & very reasonable prices, Il Fornaio is an EXCELLENT VALUE and a memorable dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuddDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another casa...my homeland food!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

As you well know some of the greatest food in Italy are bread and pizza. Any time you approach a Made in Italy hoven go get some food there!! The Fornaio at Pine and Sixth, right close by by the Pacific Place is good for almost everything they do. Sometimes I wish I could suggest their chef - like the great Mexican I met there back in the years 2009/10- to "not to over cook" the spaghetti as the Italian pasta must not be cooked like the asian noodles. The Italian pasta must be served at the table while it is still a little raw...Ask to Italian restaurant "I want pasta al dente like Italians eat it". Btw pizza is good here, I love the chicken in all of its recipes, potatoes are great, the Minestrone vegetable soup, spinach buttered on the pan, the Antpasto della casa. Mind that you re not in Italy so the food is great but its "mile 0" food, meaning local raw materials fresh but not imported form Italy. Good food, great place but do not pretend to have 100% Italian food. if you want that book a flight to a place where I live. I ll have you eating in the best places around Italia!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank faracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Good food, addictive breadsticks”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I've eaten here a few times and have enjoyed it each time. The pizza's are delicious as are the pasta's. The last time there I had the Tagliatelle Alla Bolognese and I really enjoyed it. Service has always been pretty good. Make sure you ask for the breadsticks if they don't bring them to you. They are very addictive and they're included with your meal. The desserts are very good but they are a bit pricey. I will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank onip1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing