We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Greasy Spoon”

Bernard's On Seneca
Ranked #2,799 of 4,169 Restaurants in Seattle
Cuisines: German
Restaurant details
great falls, mt
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cheap Greasy Spoon”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

You have to be in the mood to enjoy Bernard's. It is a long standing lower-priced restaurant that is rightfully off the radar. For the price the food was pretty decent. Decor, like the staff, is old and dated but with a bit of charm.

There are better options, but if in the area and you need a meal to help you recover from the previous evening, you could consider this spot.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank insecret9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Quick, good breakfast; cheap.”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Recommended by hotel around the corner. Pretty cheap and fast. Sort of a "diner" type menu but in a restaurant setting. Biscuits and gravy and knockwurst omelet were great! Seem to have some German foods on their menu.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelGuy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Skip this one”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Went for breakfast and only good thing was that it was inexpensive. Food was cold and poorly prepared, service was slow and apathetic. Not sure how it stays in businessexceptnot,any sit down breakfast options in the area.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Weird little place”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We should have realized when we walked in. It looked like a cool little place, dark wood, below the street so dark atmosphere, but no staff. We waited a minute or two at the "wait to be seated" sign before I just sat down and my wife went to find a server.
She was pretty friendly, there were some other people in there so we thought we'd stick around.
We waited a long time for our food. While we waited we realized the atmosphere wasn't cool and quirky, it was just dark.
The TV was on, playing the sex and the city movie, at 9 in the morning, to a room full of mostly guys. It was kind of distracting so I asked the server to turn it off. She relunctantly agreed, but after a few minutes, all she did was turn the volume down a few notches. I'd respect her more if she said no, she couldn't.
The food was ok, it's a decent price and all cooked fresh to order.
But then as the server was collecting the plates she dropped the dirty cutlery, on me. But instead of saying sorry she said whoops and something about being messy today. Not a very professional response.
Anyway, not terrible, but don't expect much.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigbluesquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
Reviewed May 28, 2008

I made the unfortunate mistake of going to this place not once, but twice. The first visit was for a quick drink after a day of sightseeing. We opted to sit at the bar to take in the local flavor. There was only 1 person working the entire place and she could have used some training in human relations. She mumbled as she walked so you really couldn't understand what she was saying. Apparently she asked for our id's (btw, we are both in our mid 30's, but great, I like to get carded every once and a while) but we couldn't understand her. When she came back to the bar she said, id's, no repeats and walked off. At that point we actually thought about getting up and walking out becuase of her rudeness but we went ahead and stayed. She finally got our drinks which were good and cheap. She warmed up a bit after the initial encounter and we stayed for a couple more drinks and then left. The next morning we went back for breakfast because it was right down from our hotel. Plus, we figured she wouldn't be working in the morning as well. When we got there we were the only people in the restaurant. We ordered and then it started getting busy. It did take a while to get our food, but I guess it wasn't too bad. However, the waitress was quite rude to the other patrons and even told one of them that she would get the coffee and for him to calm down. He didn't need to calm down as he was sitting at the table right next to us and wasn't agitated at all. He just wanted to make sure that she heard him say he wanted coffee. The food was pretty good and the waitress wasn't outwardly rude to us, but she was to other customers. All in all, I would not recommend this place at all. I am very sad because it has the potential to be a pretty cool place (hole in the wallish) which I usually love. They just need to train their people in the art of customer service. I don't think you have to bend over backwards for your customers, but at least treat them with some respect. We are the reason you have a job.

Helpful?
2 Thank kman3528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bernard's On Seneca also viewed

 

Been to Bernard's On Seneca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing