We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Italian”

Assaggio Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Assaggio Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 4,169 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Virginia
Description: Pamper your soul with the sensual pleasures of fine Italian wine and food while you marvel at the Michelangelo-inspired artwork.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice Italian”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Very nice place to enjoy some Italian food. The place wasn't very busy but the food was very good for the price. I would recommend it for a nice place to take your wife or date to.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    185
    55
    17
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, pricey bar.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Food is tasty and a fairly good value. The menu seemed a bit meat heavy. I would have liked a pasta and sauce option. The bar was pricey. The wine list was over priced. We eat at higher end restaurants quite a bit and felt the wine list was limited and not affordable. They were sold out of some of the by the glass wines as well so I would guess others were not clamoring to purchase a bottle either. The server recommended one to us but I feel it was way off. He was recommending by price which was obvious. Our original server was sent home right after our salad came out so that was strange as the next server was trying to recommend wine without knowing what we had ordered. I liked the original server much better- he was more personal and seemed to care. Again the food tasted great- no complaints there.

Helpful?
Thank Dizizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible service. We won't be back!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We read mostly good reviews of this place on Tripadvisor, so decided we'd eat there with a friend from Seattle on a recent visit. We arrived early for our reservation and the restaurant was not very busy on a week night. Our table was near a front window, very nice. After settling in to our table and beginning to chat, a waiter came by and said we'd have to move, someone promised the table to another patron. We never had this happen before, but obliged by moving to another table. The waiter's only comment was "These things happen". When we got to our second table in a much less desirable location, the waiter asked for our drink orders, and we told him we would be a few minutes, as we were catching up with an old friend and also need to check out the menu. The waiter returned to our table within a couple of minutes and asked again for our drink order. We politely declined and said we'd need a few more minutes. This continued every 2-3 minutes until I finally told the waiter to give us some time to talk and make a decision. He was very angry that we made this request, and ignored us after this for quite a while. Then when we finally got his attention and he came to the table he was petulant, and this continued throughout the meal. When we finished our meal, the restaurant still was not crowded, so no reason to rush us. The food was OK, but given the poor service, we won't be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colbert, WA
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Attentive service and smiles”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The service was attentive and friendly. We were greeted like friends and each request was meet with a positive response, without a hint of being burdensome. The food was well prepared and above average. The salad was excellent with various leafs and including nuts. The pizza crust was good (my son). The beef was very tender and done as requested--no misses on that one.

Street parking was good--only one block away. Again, Seattle restaurant prices may surprise some travelers.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ColbertGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Delightful Italian Experience”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is the real deal. Chef Mauro cooks Italian food as it is done in Italy.
He also has a wonderful cook book out. Don't miss this top notch Italian
restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank DonnSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Assaggio Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Assaggio Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing