We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RZ is top notch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Zoe

Restaurant Zoe
Ranked #607 of 4,059 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 14 Ave
Transit: Bus #2
Description: Recognized as one of The 10 Very Best Restaurants of 2005 by Seattle Magazine and one of the top five for new American cuisine by the 2008 Zagat Survey, Restaurant Zoe is a favorite destination for locals and visitors alike. Located on the corner of 14th and Union St on Capitol Hill, Restaurant Zoe's lively urban setting provides the backdrop for Chef Scott Staple's seasonally crafted, produce-driven fare.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“RZ is top notch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Highly recommend! If you remember the past location, restaurant menu and styling....comparatively the new RZ is 'Modern Rustic", which is a refreshing change. Still a special spot but also a place where locals come for reliable food and service. This area of CapitolHill is stuffed with gastro pub hipster restaurants and RZ can compete. Personally, everything here is elegantly confident but their service staff is what sets them apart, you will be taken care of.
The menu is very thoughtful and not elaborate, making it simpler to decide on your choices while still staying involved with the table conversation.
Sage Margarita and Wood Hills Fire Burger (a burger at RZ...who knew!) we're really quite good, plus easier on the pocketbook.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reese-Stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    50
    20
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pennylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our concierge recommended this place and it turned out to be our best meal in Seattle. Everything was perfectly cooked and they didn't balk at sharing - which is good because then I had room for the wonderful dessert!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank alsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Eclectic charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The resturant was fantastic from start to finish, appetizers fabulous, food divine and deserts incredible, and are server was more then perfect. Coming from a town were service food and atmosphere is a bit pretentious (miami) . It was so refreshing to see a place that was innovative, fresh and hip. There are sure a lot of places that can learn some things from you.
Seattle is just a wonderful place thank you!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trimom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

RZ is spacious and welcoming with a lovely dark wood interior. The staff are friendly and efficient and the service is nicely timed, with just enough of an interval between courses. The food is very, very good. English pea soup was delicate and sweet with rich tones of basil. Beet salad was perfectly fresh. Chickpeas were unusual--sautéed in their pods and eaten like edamame. Smoked pork shoulder,tender and toothsome. There's a big emphasis on pretty presentation, and portions are not large--eat here for very fine food, not to fill up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Birdseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor service and no response from owners”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We ate here recently with another couple. We had no idea who our server was and when she was pointed out to us (her name starts with a J), she consistently looked at our table, then went back to having a good time with her co-workers. The bartender answered our questions and took our food and drink orders. We were celebrating one friend's birthday and were assured that the restaurant went all out including singing by the staff, but when our desserts arrived, our friend didn't even get a candle. We paid for two desserts we didn't really want.

After emailing the owners twice, we received no response.

The only saving grace was that the food was very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Zoe also viewed

 
Seattle, WA
 

Been to Restaurant Zoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing