We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic”
Review of Maximilien

Maximilien
Ranked #110 of 4,096 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Pike Street and 1st Avenue
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
413 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“romantic”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

we began with the chartreuse lemonade, and a fremont ipa. both were fine. the view is exceptional overlooking elliot bay. we each had the dungeness crab and smoked salmon salads. it had avacado, cherry tomato, crostini, and was excellent. the server was friendly and efficient. the ambiance was relaxing, and everything was perfect. thx...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    143
    51
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“C'est nes pas bien or YUCK”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had high hopes of this place. I have been eyeballing their menu even before we arrived in Seattle. We sat in the balcony and that was the only thing worth talking about this place. Food: meh. Service: double meh. When we decided not to have dessert, I was certain that the waiter was going to punch our lights out. Their toilets can beat any third world country abattoir toilet. Take your money some place else.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yappas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service and terrific views”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We come over from England at least once a year to visit our family in Seattle and a visit to Maximillien's at lunchtime is a must. It's where the locals go to meet friends, talk business, eat well and watch the shipping world go by. It's small and intimate with an old world charm and the service is excellent.

We have never booked and last time had a 30 minute wait, so we wandered around Pike Place Market which soon passed the time.

Our son and 22 month old grand-daughter came with us and although the restaurant is not geared up to small children they did their best to accommodate us . There is no children's menu but a small croque monsieur usually does the trick. The cuisine is French and delicious - better than some of the restaurants I have eaten in, in France.

It's well worth a visit if you're looking for a good place to eat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“good view average food”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Good friends recommended Maximilien and we joined them for dinner. The atmosphere is charming and a good place for romance, but the food was both pricy and just average. One of the dishes the kitchen used a knife that had been used to cut cheese [no implications here] and that taste carried over to the main dish. It seems very behind the times when it comes to cooking standards.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank highstandards00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
188 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, classic seafood at Pike Place. What more could you want?”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Get a table by the window and you have the best view of the ferries, ships and downtown Seattle. The food is excellent and service is classic. Of course, the seafood is as fresh as possible and the crab dishes are outstanding. The only downside...bring your wallet.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FenwickBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maximilien also viewed

 

Been to Maximilien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing