We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Greek Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Panos Greek Taverna Kleftiko - CLOSED

Panos Greek Taverna Kleftiko
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Magnolia / Queen Anne
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic Greek Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our family intended to go to Crow which is a few doors down, but found it booked for the evening. So after quickly making a reservation at Panos Greek Taverna, we stayed for drinks and appies at Crow and then walked to Panos Greek. What a treat!

It has a small front dining room but also has more space in the back. The atmosphere feels like walking into a family's dining room for dinner. We were seated by a very nice gentleman (I think maybe he was the owner) at a table in the front window (try to avoid this spot in winter since every time the door opens it lets in cold air). We were handed menus filled with delicious looking ideas. Our daughter had been here before so she had a good idea about what to choose.

I ordered a main called wasarni kleftiko sto psomia a house specialty of slowly-roasted lamb baked together with onions, garlic, oregano, spices and feta cheese inside a round loaf country sourdough bread. Oh, my! It was fantastic!

Everyone else ordered a series of small plates including Spanakopita, the only item no one at our table cared for, keftedessay, spicey Greek meatballs in tomato sauce, a hommus like dip, a plate of saganakiyou, mild kefalotiri cheese flamed at your table, and a couple of other items I can't recall now, but they were fantastic! We all shared everything and washed it down with a bottle of the famous Greek retsina.

It was an evening to remember and we will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mguelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Order the special!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Had a great experience here on a Friday night before a play. The owner was very helpful with us picking out our food and wine. The special of the night came in a hot stoneware dish with a pastry type top and was filled with tasty beef. All 3 people who ordered it loved it.. Another choice at our table was a menu item that only this restaurant has that our friend said was really delicious. Location is great for doing anything at mcCaw Hall, the Itiman and the Rep, and of course to anything at Seattle Center.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We're passing through Seattle and were looking for somewhere near our hotel to have dinner. I'm glad we found this place--the food was great (and a change from the usual Greek restaurant fare), and the staff were just as good.

Our bill--appetizer, two entrees, coffee/tea--came to around $50, and I'd call it money well spent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terri-anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
123 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A real touch of Greece”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stumbled into this place after an event at nearby seattle center. the Aris beer was just great, and the little glasses made it feel like Greece. And this is a tine place filled w/ people, and nice staff.

Our food was only appetizers; a bean salad then also some filo dough and spinach creation i cannot name. Price was fair; good

I want to come back for full entree; our neighboring table had some amazing eggplant dish.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daugman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Diamond, Washington
Level Contributor
129 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice Small Greek restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We ate at Panos on our way to the Ballet at Seattle Center. Nice small, family owned resturant. The food was excellent. I would recommend you go early, because it fills up fast. Great atmosphere. Owners are very nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mageeclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panos Greek Taverna Kleftiko also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing