We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little too hipster for this guy”
Review of 5 Spot

5 Spot
Ranked #157 of 4,098 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
207 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A little too hipster for this guy”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Food was average at best, seemed like everyone in there was high but me. I fully recognize this may be appealing for some, but wasn't for me. Street parking can be difficult, and diner style service, cuz that's what it is. . . .no more, no less. Didn't hate it at all, just found nothing about it to brag about

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VillaCandiMatahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    121
    43
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
173 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great food and served with a smile”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

6 of us went here for lunch before we departed Seattle. It is very popular and was pretty full however we only had to wait a few minutes for a table. It is very hearty food and decent sized servings. Our waiter was very friendly and helpful and the food came out quickly. If I was ever in Seattle again I would go back for more.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bohica-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

First went to the 5 Spot on a Groupon. We have found that many times restaurants discriminate against Groupon users. The 5 Spot did not. Everytime we have eaten there all the servers have been wonderfully friendly and patiently answered my many questions on the menu. We have had great meals everytime and enjoyed our experiences. Certainly the place is dark and funky. And the 5 Spot is more of a bar not a diner as some of these reviews have said. The portions are huge, the food is very well-done but the tables are small and very close-together and at times the place is very very crowded and loud. We have gone back several times and enjoy our dining and whole-heartedly recommend this place to all our friends.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Food, Lousy Service”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I ate here twice with family and friends when I visited Seattle over the weekend.
The first time was a Friday night. The menu changes periodically, and at the moment the theming is Tex Mex. The restaurant, situated at the top of Queen Anne, is a lovely spot, and the restaurant has a fun vibe.
The menu is varied and all of it looked interesting and tasty.
The food was great! And that's where the good review ends.
The service was beyond slow. The waiter was distracted and rarely came back to check on us.
We had to wait 1/2 hour just to have our order taken. It was slowing down, so it wasn't that busy.
Once everyone was served, the waiter never came back to refill drinks, and when two of our group ordered dessert, it was 40 minutes later that they got their desserts. The kitchen was not busy at that point! It was between the dinner crowd and the later after 9pm crowd-
Some of our group left the restaurant because of the long wait. Very poor service.
So, we decided to try it again on Monday (Memorial Day) for lunch. Tt was very busy, we didn't mind the wait as it was really nice outside we had a group of 5 with a toddler.
There were a lot of large groups with small children- so that was never the issue.
Once inside, the watress came up and asked for our drinks orders, and off she went. If possible, the service was even worse than the previous Friday. She didn't return to take our food order for another 30 minutes. I was regretting the choice of lunch destination as the minutes ticked by.
Yes, the food all round was fantastic - when we finally received it. But the waitress was largely AWOL.
When she did come up, she was apologizing for it being busy. Okay, it was busy, but when you see your waitress chatting it up with another member of staff for at least 10 minutes during your meal- when it would be great for a refill of your beverage- and she never came back to see how anything was, never refilled our coffees and Iced Tea or water. NOT ONCE!
We were seated near the drinks station- and one of our group got up and refilled everyone's coffee mugs! Usually, that would prompt a member of staff to come over and take over…NOPE no one came.
When we were finished, we waited for the bill for another 20 minutes.
Still chatting with a member of staff in the back.
Then she apologized for being a little overwhelmed! Really?
To put this into perspective, another table next to ours of a similar size groups with children, with a different waiter- that table turned over 3 times while we had a time wasting waitress who was unconcerned about her customers. It was pretty wild, as we did have plans do something other than spend 2 1/2 hours in the restaurant!!!
I can understand a busy restaurant can be a little slow at times, but to have bad service like this, twice- with different waitstaff, I will seriously think twice about going to this restaurant again, which is unfortunate because the food was tasty and the feel of the place was great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glendalewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Classic diner food with a twist, with a cup of good joe”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Fun spot for breakfast. the highlights: great eggs benedict and biscuits. In general a stick to your ribs kind of plac with great service. You're better off with a smaller crowd as you'll be seated quicker.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rowergirl369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 5 Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing