We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb dining experience”
Review of Canlis Restaurant

Canlis Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 4,168 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $85 - $125
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Magnolia / Queen Anne
Cross street: Haliday
san diego
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“superb dining experience”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Canlis is in my opinion the best restaurant of the Seattle area.

beautiful view, elegant setting impeccable service and great food. the duck with crispy skin is worth a trip to Seattle!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank agi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    709
    156
    80
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Emirate of Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Best Duck ever”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

So when you go to the most expensive restaurant you expect to have a fantastic meal. The question of whether a meal was worth the price. Started out with the Steak Tartar. This was really steak sushi. Chopped fresh beef but lacked the season and egg of classic tartar. Overall so-so. Next was pork belly which was disappointing. Basically a average piece of porked belly nothings special. I was wondering about the meal. I had sampled my parties other dishes such as potatoe soup and canlis shrimp and Canlis salad and was underwhelmed. The came the duck. Shown as a whole duck then taken back and sliced. The best duck ever. Finished with a excellent soufflé. The bar was more than adept at mixing drinks and wine list had a good range though weighted toward more expensive bottles. The service and view were outstanding. Would I return? Yes for that duck.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Satiated in Seattle”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Friends invited me along to this fine restaurant and I am glad to have accepted! Service was excellent, the view was simply outstanding with an excellent (though overpriced wine list) and superb (again, perhaps overpriced) food. I will definitely return on my next trip there, but will be prepared for a pricey delight.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coachdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best of both worlds”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Typically the food suffers with restaurants that have a great view, but Canlis is the exception. Wonderful ambience with a view that stretches and entertains throughout the meal. Would highly recommend. The food is perfectly prepared.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RunningGatorDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner but overpriced.”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a nice dinner at Canlis this evening but the place is overpriced, especially for the alcohol. It seems like this is definitely THE restaurant to go to for any special event. The service was excellent and on par with many fine dining restaurants. The ambiance was very nice and the building is very old, built in 1950 I believe. They have a piano man who was very good and unobtrusive with his music. They also have a great view overlooking Lake Union.

They have a choice of a 3 course, 4 course or full 7 course chefs tasting menu. The 7 course menu is pre-planned and everyone gets the same dish. They do have a wine pairing available but only for the 7 course meal. They have two wine pairings available, a regular one and a "sommelier" one that consists of more expensive and rare wines.

We chose the 4 course meal because we usually share our dishes and this way we get to try 8 different courses. Since they don't have a wine pairing for the 3 or 4 course meal we chose one from their extensive wine selection. Most of the wines they have are fairly pricey. We are not ones who drop hundreds of dollars on wine so we found one around 50 dollars, which is more our price range. (We found a wine on their list for $17,500!)

The amuse bouche was tasty and comprised of a wild mushroom tart, a salmon mousse with tobiko caviar, and a fried egg yolk. Our favorite was the salmon mousse.

For the first course my wife had the oysters and I had the Hamachi. We really weren't that impressed with it, especially since Seattle is supposed to be known for their seafood. The oysters did not taste as fresh as we have had at another restaurant in Seattle and the Hamachi tasted a little fishy.

The second course we had was the Peter Canlis prawns and the foie gras. Both courses were amazing. The prawns were cooked perfectly and had good flavor. The foie gras was probably the second best we've ever had with great flavor and seared perfectly.

For our main entrée we chose the lamb and the wagyu filet mignon. The meals were good but not spectacular. We have had better wagyu and wonder exactly what grade they served. It didn't quite melt in your mouth like we expected. The lamb was decent but not quite as flavorful as we had hoped.

We finished with the Grand Marnier soufflé and the pistachio cake and ice cream. The pistachio cake was just ok and the soufflé was good, but a tasted a little too "eggy".

All in all this was a good restaurant and had good food. We are a little more critical because we have been to some very high end restaurants and have tasted the best, but hope that it can be used to help them continually improve.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank acwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canlis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing