We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT to be MISSED!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canlis Restaurant

Canlis Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Canlis Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 4,062 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $85 - $125
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Magnolia / Queen Anne
Cross street: Haliday
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
168 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“NOT to be MISSED!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Enter into this former house, now restaurant, and you enter into a magical world of perfect food theatre. The food alone is worth the travel (slightly outside of downtown Seattle) and the advanced reservation (if you're planning on traveling to Seattle - make sure you book in advance or you'll have the 9:45 seting - which will be too late to fully enjoy this 2+ hour eating adventure). However, the combination of food, and synchronized food service, is an experiance not to be missed. With wine you will end up spending at least $150. per person - but considering that you will be receiving a great meal and a great presentation this is money well spent! Don't miss this moment it's a Seattle moment!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanetJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    671
    144
    75
    22
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“" Its Love "”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have been going to this restaurant since I was a kid , it use to be this place where our parents took us and we would get dressed up and be on our best behavior. At that time they only had women servers and they all dressed in original Japanese Kimono's. I miss that part of Canlis History and sometimes wish they would return to their original way , though I know nothing stays the same.
The restaurant still holds it lovely appeal , great service , lovely decor and the simplicity of knowing you are walking into a generational experience. I still love going here with my parents and friends and look forward to the fine food and the fun of being there.
Do I miss some of the original menu items ? Yes
I think part of me still wants some things in this city not to change. If you are looking for a special place , this is it . Its classic and it still holds memories that cannot go away no matter how much change you bring.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cyprusbeachgirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“World-Class Dining Experience: Unique, Exceptional, Mind-blowing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I honestly don't have sufficient words to aptly describe this unique dining experience whilst in Seattle last year. My very dear friends treated me to an evening here - I honestly couldn't believe how exceptional everything was - way beyond my wildest expectation - service, ambiance, friendliness of everyone including the parking staff - who didn't, I might just ad, even take our names down when we arrived. When wanting to leave, the car was parked right outside the front door ready for us to drive away! Kyle Johnson, was our lead waiter & sommelier - PHENOMENAL in every sense of the word. Food was exceptional, presentation mind-blowing (like works of art) with fantastic views over Seattle. Bottom line, if you go to Seattle and don't experience CANLIS, you are seriously losing out!!!!!!!!!!!! World-class in every sense of the word!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kimfaclier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
110 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Always Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love Canlis. It's our special go-to place for important guests, and family celebrations. We were there recently for my mother-in-law's birthday celebration. Service is excellent for an American restaurant, they seem to have adopted the Asian culture's philosophy of making service an art form. From the minute you drive up to their sheltered entrance and are greeted by one or more valets to when you come out to claim your car after your evening it's fantastic. I'm sure you've already read about their signature 'no name, no ticket' valet service. They have a system which unobtrusively tracks who you are, and when you are ready to leave. By magic your car is waiting for you.

Once seated the service inside is equally smooth and perfect. Like a choreographed dance plates arrive at the same time, and your server checks back on a regular basis without seeming to intrude. Nice. And such a refreshing change from other expensive places where you can't seem to get any server's attention until you are finished with your meal.

The food? Wouldn't want to forget that. Well, really can't, it's that good. Oh, but I do have one complaint: the twice baked potatos are served in a metal ramiken and they remain hot, too hot, throughout the meal. And the biggest complaint? Those darned potatos are so loaded with yummy calories you can't stop eating them. But it's a problem I'm willing to overlook time and again!

Thanks for being there Canlis.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susafoxSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still the Gold Standard in Seattle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have to confess that when dining at Canlis recently, I was waiting for it to be less than wonderful in some respect - less than perfect service, a poorly executed dish, a bad vibe. Nothing materialized except that we were seated, on a completely filled Friday evening, in an area occupied by what seemed to be business people loudly talking shop and paying scant attention to the food. Remedy: next time we will come during the week and expressly request to be seated in a more sedate area.

The food is always good but Altura and the Willows Inn on Lummi serve very good food too. What leaves Canlis in a class of its own is the total package - great food, exceptional wine list, best service in Seattle and a great space. One can only hope that as they evolve they continue to hew to the core principles that keep them on top.

One final point: a reviewer recently gave Canlis one star because of frosty treatment at the host stand because of his dress. I don't know whether he had on flip flops and a Hawaiian shirt or what, but save yourself embarrassment, be an adult and dress properly for the occasion.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RBax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canlis Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Canlis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing