We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is a real gem”

Phnom Penh Noodle House
Ranked #975 of 4,109 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Downtown
seattle, washington
Level Contributor
268 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“this is a real gem”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

we ate here with another couple before going to a nearby play. What a surprise, tucked away in the ID. VERY clean, attentive service, excellent bountiful food. We share a big bowl of duck soup and had lots left over. My red fish curry dish was spicy and fresh, husband loved his noodle dish. plentiful and a bargain. No complaints. Small crowd. Go here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NWroamer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stanwood, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Following a write up in Seattle Magazine (Jan 2013)”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Recent Seattle Magazine did an in-depth review of noodle restaurants (January 2013 cover story). The full page picture of the Mee Katang definitely caught our eye. We stopped in for lunch yesterday while shopping in Seattle. The Mee Katang with rice egg noodles and beef looked exactly as pictured. It was excellent. A large portion that was very reasonably priced. Our other meals and take our orders also got high marks. Don’t be dissuaded by the seemingly store front as you drive by. When you enter it opens into a large restaurant with comfortable seating and very efficient and friendly staff. Definitely will go again next time in Seattle.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hjr57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You gotta try the fish amok.”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I found out this place thru Couchsurfing Seattle and did not know we have a Cambodian place here!

So I invited my gfriends and an Irish friend who is leaving for Dublin in a few hours. We were just there tonight.

I was in Cambodia in 2011 and haven't had Khmer food since. So I thought I'd give it a try. Oh boy, their fish amok is so spot on!! Just like what I had in Siem Reap! To die for! My friends also ordered Me Tang dishes and they were good they said! We had 6 dishes for 6 of us to share. We also had some chicken grill and fried crab rice which were tasty.

Service is good, our attendant was Cambodian :) The portions are aplenty! And we even had some take home for lunch! For $56 for 6 dishes, 6 people and 2 drinks, not bad at all!

Will come back here again. They have a $6.50 seafood soup? You kidding? This got to be one of the cheapest place in town! 4 stars!!!

How could I not know about this place a year ago??

Recommendation:
So if you haven't tried the amok, I believe it's Cambodia's national food, dude, you gotta try it! It's basically a fish or chicken/beef dish in coconut milk, with a bit chillies, and some herbs that makes it different from the curry dishes from Thailand or India.
I heart Cambodia and would love to go back there just for their food! The people are also nice there. Now I get it why Angeline Jolie loved it there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfectly delicious”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Had a few hours afternoon the cruise and before the flight and was hungry for dome good southeast Asian cuisine. So i strolled through Pioneer Square over to China and casually stumbled intorno this noodle shop. Didn't take long to catch on that I had chosen well. Friendly service amd absolutely delicious food. I highly recommend this place and can't with to make it back to Seattle for another taste!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food,great price.”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Peaceful place with really yummy food served by a sweet young woman.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phnom Penh Noodle House also viewed

 

Been to Phnom Penh Noodle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing