We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff, get the bbq” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of KAU KAU Barbeque Market

KAU KAU Barbeque Market
Ranked #444 of 4,062 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
254 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice staff, get the bbq”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Three of us ate on a Thursday night. We all got different dishes but did try the sampler plate pushed by the waitress. My duck dish was fine but I wish I got the bbq! Next time

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MadisonGrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    29
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lousy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

bbq duck had so much salt it was inedible. string bean dish was better.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paual5304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage
2 reviews
“A hole in the wall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

This place does not look like much from the outside or inside, but famous for their Char Siu (roasted red pork). The people are nice and food is fabulous! Don’t let the place dictate your taste buds.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Quint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful service, mediocre food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Recently went to Seattle's "Chinatown" - terribly disappointing - few shops, most were closed, few restaurants. We asked a local where to go & he recommended Kau Kau. It had a line out the door, so we figured it must be good - WRONG!

We ordered about 5 dishes. Duck was OK, Sweet & Sour pork was pretty good, well fried, but overly sauced (nice portion though). One of the pork BBQ dishes had a lot of fried fat on it which I thought was disgusting. One dish was unrecognizable. Service was so bad, we finally canceled our order for lo mein.

Service was horrible - we had to ask for rice multiple times after our other dishes came out. I can only imagine that someone didn't show up for work because there was only one waitress in the joint & the owner was trying to pitch in. He was very apologetic.

The only good thing I can say is it was cheap, which is good since we left hungry.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexxi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the BEST in the Northwest !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

I have been going to Kau Kau since 1978 and it has been and still is the BEST BBQ and Roasted Pig and Duck in the Northwest !

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Crummy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KAU KAU Barbeque Market also viewed

 

Been to KAU KAU Barbeque Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing