We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and informative cooking class”
Review of Al Boccalino

Al Boccalino
Ranked #3,009 of 4,168 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Pioneer Square
Cross street: Western
Transit: We are close to the light rail and the bus stops.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun and informative cooking class”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

While I've not dined at Al Boccalino, now that I've taken Luigi's cooking class I'll be back for dinner. The class was very enjoyable and informative. Luigi emphasizes cooking as opposed to following a recipe. Throughout the hands-on class he teaches technique, tasting, and imparts a variety of knowledge gained through a long career. Practical information on the proper use of fresh and dried herbs, the proper way to heat and use olive oil, carving technique and many other subjects will be of benefit in my kitchen no matter the cuisine of the day. Luigi's very direct and humorous manner and the opportunity to share the beautiful meal prepared with our classmates made for a fun afternoon.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Birdmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    31
    16
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
“Dinner at Al Boccalino”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just got home from dinner at Al Boccalino. Fabulous. Luigi and Angelia are great hosts. The house wine, a sangiovese, was very nice. My wife had the fresh noodles, the fat ones, with pesto sauce and chicken which she absolutely loved. I had the rissoti with homemade sausage. My oh my, it was good. The pear salad with walnuts was very nice and my home made canneloni bean soup was delicious. If you want good food and are not in a hurry this is the place for you. We americans are in a big hurry to eat...the Europeans are not. Loved this place. Will go again very soon. Signed up for the cooking class there....

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ervc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your time on cooking classes here!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A complete waste of time! Luigi said to be there at 6:45pm because he starts right at 7pm... he actually started taking drinks orders (which you paid a pretty penny for) at 7pm and did not start any type of cooking until 7:30pm! He asked for 4 people to volunteer to cook (others can try to watch even though you can't really see anything since the dessert was being prepared on one side of the room and the meat in another area and the chopping onions in another part of the room). We did not eat until 8:30 and it definitely was not a 5 course meal. You eat everything at once and don't event get to see the gnocchi being prepared.... We saw the chickpea flour and water mixed but nothing else with the gnocchi.

At the end you receive the bill and 18% gratuity and sales tax is on top of the Groupon price as well. Why do you HAVE to tip on a cooking class that you don't really even learn from the professional how to cook!?

I would not classify this as a cooking class more of a social class of learning how to make menus with out an actual recipe.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic, genuine, family friendly”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were very pleased to have stumbled upon this gem on our recent trip to Seattle. They provided lots of options for vegetarian dishes, and the food was outstanding. Very authentic, enjoyable for small family gatherings or romantic dates. We will be back for a cooking class, sounds like a blast. How nice!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DLangill604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Treated with contempt”
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Pushy and rude head waiter. Loud mouthed chef/proprietor sat regaling his friends at high volume with poor taste jokes about prostitution and masturbation. Also made request of us to smoke while we were eating and gave sarcastic reply when my wife objected. No attempt to explain wine list etc. table not waited on at all after "Joe" - the only personable member of staff - left for the night. If you like being humiliated and treated with contempt by senior staff, this is the restaurant for you. Otherwise, go to il terraza in nearby 1st ave - more expensive but a million miles away from this clown.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TiredTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Boccalino also viewed

 

Been to Al Boccalino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing