We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Indian in the Seattle area”
Review of Tandoor - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tandoor
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Neighborhood: University District
Mountlake Terrace, Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My favorite Indian in the Seattle area”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I'm very picky with Indian food, having lived in Nepal in the past, but I love this place. Some of the most authentic Indian food I've had in the States. There are a ton of great vegetarian options and they were very accommodating of dietary restrictions (my sister is vegan and they were willing to make many of the veg entrees vegan). The service was excellent. Their saag paneer was great and not overly creamy, and their gulaab jaamen is some of the best I've had. Everything was hot and timely. Five stars.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chloe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tandoor”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Wonderful service but most importantly, wonderful food. An abundance of flavors and smells. If you like spicy, the staff here will accomodate any palate! I could eat here 2-3 times a week!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great Indian in heart of University District”
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

In town for a few days. Most of the ethnic restaurants in the university district look like a place where you will get food poisoning. Tandoor looked acceptably clean. What a nice surprise. The service was great. Food was fresh and flavorful. Indian wine was a nice option.
Order a naan and a special dinner for multiple tastes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Live2traveldaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“The best Indian Buffet...ever!”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

For the last couple of years, when I find myself in the University district of Seattle, I repair to a little hole in the wall place on the Ave for a delightful Indian buffet. The strip between 50th and 52nd has a myriad of small ethnic eateries (and convenient back in angle parking), but I have eyes only for Tandoor.
Many Indian lunch buffets provide food a step down in quality from their evening menu. Not here. Although you may not revel in every dish, you will find a score of first class offerings. We went again yesterday and feasted on perfect butter chicken, lamb kofta, and vegetable masala, among others. The charming staff provides nan and cool clear water. You've got to have plenty of water to wash down this feast!
Tandoor provides (gratis) sveral special touches to their buffet. For a choice in beverage they offer a nicely spiced chai. They include unlimited papadum (I adore those crunchy wafers.) And dessert! Mongo likes dessert! Look for a warm batch of glob jonums with your name on them. Yesterday they had,additionally, mango custard (to die for!), rice pudding and carrot pudding.
And the price is amazing. At the heart of lunch hour you will be treated to a variety of students chowing down on this affordable feast. If you're an old goat like yours truly, watching the students is almost as much fun as eating the papadum with spicy mint chutney..
There is not a single negative thing I can say about the buffet at this small Indian eatery. I'm already looking forward to my next foray into Seattle. No need to worry, they've got the curry!
jeff

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JeffLookinatFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Tasty Entrees”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I've been going to Tandoor for years and have never been disappointed.
The Katchumber salad, samosas, and naan are all great, but the real stars are the entrees.
Love their fish jalfrazie the most, but you won't be disappointed with the fish vindaloo either. (Yes, the seafood is what I go for).

And make sure you save room for dessert, they are all sooo good.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DumbDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing