We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza!”

Northlake Tavern & Pizza House
Ranked #588 of 4,137 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Neighborhood: University District
Bellevue, WA
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Pizza here is excellent! Pies are always thick and loaded with terrific high quality toppings. Great tavern atmosphere and we always come to catch the dawgs games. If you want the best pizza in Seattle - this is the place!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GuinnessGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brier, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best pizza in town.”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Northlake Tavern is a unique place. The walls are covered with David Horsey's drawings (local cartoonist that began drawing for the UW Daily, then the Seattle P-I and now for the L A Times), there are no windows because it is located under the I-5 freeway bridge so it would not matter, but the pizza is FABULOUS! NLT also offers a vast selection of beers on tap. I should not be telling anyone about this place, as the wait Friday and Saturday nights is long enough.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good, classic Seattle place”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I first came here in the mid-80's and it really has not changed. I know there is a new owner, and he was smart in maintaining the original formula.

The other positive reviews are enough, I don't need to expand. Except to say this is not pizza in the classic sense of the term. These pies are thick, and most of the thickness is made of of top quality ingredients. I like the Logger or one of the combo's. I only need 3 slices of a small pie to get pretty full. And I don't eat much of the crust, just the goodies.

Great selection of tap beers. And the house wine list is inexpensive and well chosen. Also recommend the house salad.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank slalomski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not your average pizza...”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

So this is not a Chicago, New York or...well...really not a classifiable pizza joint. Northlake pizza (Herb's as us old timers remember it)is unique. The crust is thick and chewy...and the toppings always fresh and...enormous. Having downed many pizzas here over the last 40 years or so, be assured the taste and quality have never wavered. The beer flows nicely and the service always tops. The place gets very busy on weekends during a Huskey game but worth the wait.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rynodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best pizza in the Northwest”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I've always heard how good Northlake Tavern pizza was and I finally got to experience it myself - let me just say that, "I was NOT disappointed!" The pizza is excellent and worth the trip, via car or boat. The atmosphere has that old tavern charm. I found the staff and other patrons very friendly. Give it a try - you won't be disappointed either!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northlake Tavern & Pizza House also viewed

 

Been to Northlake Tavern & Pizza House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing