We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch, so many choices!”
Review of Chiso

Chiso
Ranked #1,147 of 4,110 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Fremont
Seattle, USA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great lunch, so many choices!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you love Japanese food, this is the place to come! It has a very large menu with some unusual dishes and sushi chefs at the back even at lunch. We always have a hard time deciding what to have. Everything is tasty but I have to go back for the black cod.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful sushi”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

One of the best sushi places in the city. The hamachi is great and the chirasi bowls are wonderful. Service is excellent. Go before 7:00 PM or you may have to wait.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 205Moose21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West U.S.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sushi = Hamburger = Neil Young”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Don't get me wrong, I love seafood, especially raw seafood, which is one of the reasons I come to the northwest each fall, to eat fresh seafood. Don't get me wrong, the raw, fresh seafood we ate at Chiso was excellent. But isn't that the case of any sushi restaurant I would choose to go to? Right? Do your research, get a friends opinion, and never be disappointed. Okay, so I am not a connoisseur, I have probably only been to a couple of dozen sushi places around the country over the years. I really can't tell one from another. They are all really good, but all really the same, which is why I rate Chiso as average, because it is like all the other excellent sushi restaurants.

Can't someone take sushi out of the box it is in? As an example, think of all the different ways in which a simple hamburger is done. Cooking, presentation, atmosphere. Or how Neil Young has been playing the same 3 chords for all my life, yet he continues to present them in creative and inventive ways.

Please, someone?

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RiverJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Oh my gosh Omakase”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife & I had the house omakase dinner at Chiso last nite - superb. From a wonderful crab miso soup, asparagus-green bean-spinach plate, delicious salmon tartare with salmon roe, "sashimi duck", extraordinarily fresh sushi plate. All very nicely paced and delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DM1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“paradise for your palate”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Along with the best, freshest ingredients and traditional sushi offerings, Chiso has an array of dishes which tempt your taste buds. Stand outs are the spinach and avocado salad and shiso mojito. Their happy hour is unrivaled. Unagi and avocado, spicy tuna, and more.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiso also viewed

 

Been to Chiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing