We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi and sake!!”
Review of Mashiko

Mashiko
Ranked #270 of 4,096 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa barbara
1 review
“Sushi and sake!!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

From Santa Barbara ca. Took our 4 and 6 yr olds. Food was excellent, sake was smooth staff was super nice, good atmosphere- enjoy!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ptconception
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    16
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

A pretty small place so expect to wait a bit but well worth the wait. The sushi is just so fresh! Be sure to sit at the sushi bar, best seats in the house!

Helpful?
Thank Kelsey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Experience”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I was taken to Mashiko by a wonderful family member in a joint birthday dinner for me my son-in-law and my daughter. This was by no means a typical Japanese restaurant; the chef had his own creative twist on every item we ate. We had a three hour, approximately 10 course, sushi experience, with a Chef's Choice "Honkaku". I thought I knew sushi but this was a delightful and novel experience. Every dish was served individually with a description by the wait staff. The toppers for me were the prosciutto wrapped seared scallops with flying fish roe, the spicy Hawaiian ahi poke, and the sea snail/whelk.

We finished the meal with Jasmine Crème Brulee, which was to die for.

The owner is committed to sustainable fishing, which was a bonus to an amazing experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ponygirl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This was one of the best sushi experiences I've had. The service was exceptional. Our server was very excited to tell us about the choices and quite knowledgeable as well. My girlfriend is allergic to refined sugar and so cannot eat many foods on the menu so they catered to us in order to accommodate her unique diet. The atmosphere was fun but not overwhelming, and afforded enough privacy for a conversation and wasn't too loud to hear. The food was delicious! I'm a big sushi fan and eat a lot on my travels, but I'm certainly not an expert. I really enjoyed my experience here!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great sushi--and sustainable, too”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My husband and I went to Mashiko with a friend who loves sushi but who had stopped eating it because of the problems with depletion of fisheries. You can eat shshi at Mashiko without guilt because the chef is scrupulous about only using sustainable products. And it's great sushi, too. The three of us had the chef's choice "umi" menu (all uncooked fish) and loved it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_Byars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mashiko also viewed

 

Been to Mashiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing