We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a look if your close by” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of King Street Station

King Street Station
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Worth a look if your close by”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

As stations go this is a nice place to sit and wait for a train. It is not on the scale of Grand Central Station in NY, but it very well decorated. I doubt I would make a trip to see it but if passing by or getting a train it is worth a look.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Davetheaddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    57
    23
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, Hampshire
Level Contributor
434 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Although rail travel in the US is a mere shadow of what it was, some reminders of the "glory days" remain. King Street station is just one of those.

It's perhaps not the best, most well-equipped station, but as a piece of architecture it's magnificent.

You must go into the main waiting area and take a look around - especially at the wonderful ceiling. If you can, climb the stars to the gallery to get a whole different perspective of this great space.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rexbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to Catch a Train!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Even though we were there far too early in the morning, I noticed how pretty this little train station is. Helpful staff, close to bus stops and coffee shops (of course), clean and pretty interior.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“3 Stars might be too generous.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We recently took the Amtrak from Seattle to Vancouver and back again. It was fairly convenient going out, as we were staying nearby. But coming back, we were rather disappointed. Our train arrived in after 10pm at night. This is a regularly scheduled train. We, along with a few other people, including a single mother with a young child who was barely awake, were planning to take the Light Rail from King Street area to the airport as we all had hotels near SeaTac. It was advertised as being convenient, but when we arrived, we were told that the elevators were shut down at 8pm because the building is owned by the city an they shut them down at 8pm. This was in no way convenient as we then all had to drag our suitcases up the stairs to the street level where the Light Rail station is located. I'm also not sure how this is allowed with ADA laws. What if there was a handicapped person trying to reach that street level? They would have been stuck because the elevators were shut down. I was also very disappointed that the baggage handlers did not offer any assistance to the mother who had 2 large suitcases and a small child to deal with at that late hour. I'm just glad that my husband and I were there so we could offer some assistance. I think the city of Seattle really needs to rethink shutting the elevators down when they know more trains will be arriving after 8pm.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank kelleigh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistique
Level Contributor
620 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Station is beautiful but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband & I were taking the Amtrak from Seattle to Denver so we walked to King Street station the day before departure to see how long it would take from our hotel. The walk was doable but I was a little uneasy about the neighborhoods we had to go through- seemed to be quite a few homeless and others just milling around. As it turned out, it was raining the morning we left, so we ended up taking a cab. The station itself is beautiful but kind of stark.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MstqMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Street Station also viewed

 

Been to King Street Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing