We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brings back great memories of Antep”
Review of Cafe Turko

Cafe Turko
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Turko is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #146 of 4,132 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Fremont Ave.
Description: Cafe Turko offers an extensive, authentic menu of Seasonal Dishes and Traditional Turkish Favorites with rich: Vegetarian Vegan Gluten Free Halal meat only. (Halal = meat: cut and prepared according to Islamic traditions) Kid / Family Friendly Atmosphere. Our goal is to provide you a unique environment to dine and enjoy the legendary Turkish tastes and hospitality while smelling the tantalizing aromas coming from our open kitchen.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“brings back great memories of Antep”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The food is very authentic and incredibly delicious. Eating here brought back great memories of our travels through Turkey and especially in Antep (Gaziantep). The owner is friendly and happy to make suggestions if you can't decide. His wife puts out the some of the best Turkish food we've ever had!

The place isn't very big, so I'd suggest calling for a reservation - not sure if they do them or if it's just first come, first served. We've also ordered take-out and it was just as good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brand763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    36
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Freeland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Remarkable food- friendly service!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Wow1 What a find!! Delicious homemade Turkish cuisine- lovely gourmet hummus, delicious lamb dishes, really tasty salads and desserts. I will be back!! I hope, many times. Lots of gluten free options as well- a life saver for my husband.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun and okay”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Just had lunch here today and was really looking forward to trying out this place. We ordered a mezze (muhammara), Sucuk plate with melted feta cheese and Kuzu Pide. We enjoyed the presentation and the taste of the food. My only disappointment was that I was envisioning a much better Turkish bread. The pita bread that came with the mezze and sucuk plates was nothing exciting and the Pide bread was okay. Though we enjoyed the atmosphere of the place and the way the food looked, we decided it was not a place we would return to eat. Also, it is a bit expensive which I do not mind paying if the food is fantastic.

I recommend this for a fun experience and okay food. I think most people would enjoy this place for the ambience and the food. Please do not come here if you are in a hurry or are expecting good service...it is just not that kind of a place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“fun and tasty,slightly pricey”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We enjoyed our food and service at Cafe Turko. The owner was our waiter and spent a little time chatting with us, even though the restaurant was crowded. I asked a table of 10 young people near us if they like their food and they all said, YES!
They have no liquor license, however. The owners are Moslem.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mauri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Turkish Delight!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch, very crowded but friendly owner explained there was a large group in for lunch. Not an issue at all, great service, friendly server, tried two different salads, mine with chicken was very good. Hubby had beet salad which was good ( but small ) for the price. Would go again and try other things including the coffee and dessert.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Oinkoinkone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Turko also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Turko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing