We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musical magical!”
Review of Keys on Main

Keys on Main
Ranked #15 of 218 Nightlife in Seattle
Attraction details
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I live in Seattle and had been to this piano bar BEFORE it switched ownership and was called Chopsticks. I have to say, the new ownership and change to Keys on Main is a huge improvement and one of my favorite places to go.

All of the players are extremely talented and interact well with the crowd. Very engaging and can play pretty much any request you want.

I've come to Keys with my boyfriend for a date night and had a great experience! I've also come with a group of girls and we had a wonderful time singing along to Michael Jackson songs.

I'd recommend this to anyone - local or tourist!

1  Thank Cassie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 61 of 61 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

SO DISAPPOINTING!!! I had reserved a table for 10 a month in advance to celebrate my sister's 21st birthday last Saturday, 11/9. I never received anything confirming my reservation, but I do remember that when I made it, online, it said to try and arrive by 8:00 p.m. The show started at 9pm. We were coming from dinner in Bellevue, and left there with plenty of time to spare. However, we ran in to traffic, and GPS trying to route us through closed streets in Seattle due to construction. I called at 8:10pm to let you know that we were going to be late due to traffic, and the like. There was no answer, it just went to voicemail. We pulled up out front (by the way your page here says you have valet parking) and ran inside to let them know we were here. The guy at the door last Saturday was incredibly rude! He look at me and told us we were late. - 8:30pm I told him I know, and that we tried calling, but no one answered, he just said 'sorry". I told him we got stuck in traffic and that our GPS was taking us all around the closed down streets due to the mercer mess. His response was pretty much "tough [--]". He said he gave our table away, and that we could stand in the back. I told him again, that I tried calling, and I also reminded him that you have contact information for me. If my reservation was to have been given away, you should have called me (seeing as no one answers the phone there anyway). He just said "we have a lot of no-shows". Trying to excuse his extreme rudeness, we pondering just standing in the back. My husband was still parked on the street in the unload zone. I asked him if you had valet (as it says you do, right here on this page) and he said no - like I was crazy. I then asked where is a good place to park....he said "wherever". To which we walked out the door, and we will not be visiting your establishment......ever. Terrible customer service!!!!! What was supposed to be a fun evening with family to share in the celebration of my sisters 21st birthday turned out to be very frustrating! If you are in the practice of just giving away reserved tables without contacting the original reservation holder (or even answering the phone!) that should be stipulated in your reservation!!!!! Terrible!! Whomever was working the door Saturday evening needs an attitude adjustment!!!!!!

2  Thank JamieJeawon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jordanstoneman, Owner at Keys on Main, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Hi Jamie,
I'm very sorry that you had a bad experience at our establishment. Here is the standard email confirmation that talks about our reservation policy

"We have received your reservation and have you confirmed for a party of XX on XXXXXXX, XXXXXXXXXXXXXX.

A day before your reservation date we will call you to confirm the final number in your party. Reservation time is 8:45 pm. If you have not arrived by 8:45, your table will be given to anyone on the waiting list.

If this is your first time coming to Keys on Main here’s what you can expect. On stage we feature 2 performers and 2 baby grand pianos. What they play is entirely up to you. The Dueling Piano Show is highly interactive and driven by the audience.
Singing along and clapping ARE A MUST! You bring up your request accompanied with a tip ($5 is typical). The songs are played in order of “how much love (aka tip)” is on them. For example, a $20 song will always be played before a $5 song.
The “duel” comes from the audience. If you don’t like a particular song we’re playing, you can stop the song by requesting a better song with a bigger tip. But if a song is stopped and you really wanted to hear it, we’ll start it up again for $1 more than it was stopped for!

Dueling Pianos is always a great way to celebrate a special event. We love birthdays, bachelor/bachelorette parties, divorces, going away parties, you name it! We have a special bit for all occasions, so if you’d like us to get that person on stage, please be sure to write down their name and the occasion on your request when you bring it up!

Did you know that Keys on Main can also provide entertainment anywhere? That's right, we can pack up the entire stage and ship it to anywhere! We've played for tens of thousands of people all over the western United States! Corporate parties, weddings, special fundraisers…you name it, we've played it!
If you have a venue, we can get there! Give us a call at (206) 915-3044 for more information!

Thanks,
Keys on Main


I sincerely apologize if you received you didn't receive exceptional service from our door staff. I also apologize that you didn't receive a confirmation of your reservation by email. That leads me to believe that the system didn't do its job. We will try to do better! We hope that you'll amend your review with this new information.

Thanks!
Jordan Stoneman
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The piano players are fun and engaging. Go with a group, have a few rounds of drinks and sing your heart out!

2  Thank pjballey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

15 of us went on Saturday night (July 20th) for my daughter's Bachelorette Party. This was my first time back since it changed from Chopstix to Keys on Main. There were also 4 other Bachelorette Parties there that night too.

The first problem occurred when we ordered drinks. One of the girls paid for her 2 drinks ($18) and paid with a $50 bill. 30 minutes later, they were still waiting for their $32 in change... After several inquiries, and over an hour later, asking where their change was, (the waitress had several excuses, like only the bartender can make change & he's way too busy right now, we don't have enough $1's, blah, blah, blah), I informed the bartender that our guest wanted their change now. (I knew this was a classic waitress/bartender trick to pocket more tips). Our guests had their change within a minute after that.

After I demanded the change, our service got worse and our drinks got lighter & lighter to a point one of our guests was adamant there wasn't any vodka in her vodka & tonic.

3 hours & a whopping total of 4 very weak, watery drinks later for me, I ordered a round for the table & was informed by the waitress that they would no longer be serving me. WHAT??? Are you KIDDING ME??? When I asked why, the waitress informed me the bartender had made the decision... A man I talked to once, an hour & 1 drink after arriving... Needless to say, our party tabbed out immediately, (no tip), and left which was very unfortunate for several reasons: 1.) the piano players were really good but their servers & bartender cost them 15 well paying customers who were prepared to finish out the night at Keys. 2.) We collectively had over $500 in cash we were willing to pay the players with and had been paying $10-25 a song request. Not one of the other Bachelorette Parties seemed to have been cut off or had trouble getting service.

Which brings me to another point, if you go to Keys, don't pay more than $1 to $5 for a song. If the piano players don't like it, don't want to pay it, or the crowd isn't responding favorably to it, they players offer customers a chance to shut the song down by paying a minimum of the same amount paid to play it & then you're out money (our songs were shut down numerous times after paying more than $20 for each song) and there are no refunds! Piano players keep it all.

Being treated the way we were at Keys gave several recently engaged women in our party a chance to see Keys is not the place to have your Bachelorette Party. Good customer Service goes a long way and you won't get it at Keys.

3  Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jordanstoneman, Owner at Keys on Main, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Hi Julie,
I was there that night performing and I remember your party very well. Just a couple of things to remember:
1. Every drink that we serve in the house is measured and poured. We do not dilute drinks, we pace service.
2. Your party was extremely fun but after several hours of drinking, got a little too intoxicated for us to legally serve you any more alcohol. After the 3rd time of having to ask you or members of your party to leave the stage area so that the show could continue, the staff made the decision to cut your drink service off and offered everyone in your party water.
3. Your server had difficulty getting you change, for that I am very sorry for the wait, however, the money was delivered, and several of your drinks were discounted as a result.
4. The piano players have a very difficult job of keeping the show fun and entertaining, while balancing the need to play songs in order of how much money has been paid on the song. This is a concept that makes some people uncomfortable, however refunds are happily provided if you feel like your song wasn't played at the end of the show. And, again, sometimes our players don't know every song that is requested, for that reason we ask for communication from the audience. If an audience member hasn't the song they requested, we ask them to come up and talk to us so that we can make it right.

I apologize if you feel the staff didn't treat you like you deserved to be treated. Now that a little time has passed and you have all the facts and a different perspective on your service, I hope that you would be so kind as to amend your review. If you're interested, we'd like to try again, and throw you a VIP party. Please let us know how we can make your negative experience up to you.

Thanks,
Jordan Stoneman
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keys on Main also viewed

 

Been to Keys on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing