We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel!”
Review of Hotel Ballard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ballard
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We enjoyed three lovely nights in this great small hotel. It is well located to tons of shops and food. The only downside was the small garage. We had to park one night on the street, as the garage was full, and did not find out that there was an additional place to park until the end of our stay. If you are driving in and get a choice of vehicle bring a smaller car as the spaces in the garage are quiet small, and the ceiling very low.
The staff was wonderful, and very helpful to our needs, and to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Great job Hotel Ballard!

Room Tip: As Far as we could tell, all of the 29 rooms are great, but the 4th floor lets you see over the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis W, General Manager at Hotel Ballard, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Amber,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Ballard. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return soon! I will share your kind words with the staff and ensure that we are informing guests about our overflow parking options at time of check in.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    47
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
123
12
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

After a misunderstanding concerning the reservation, we found the hotel superb, big room, luxurious bathroom and very kind and caring service. The neighborhood is lively and full of restaurants and facilities. We recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdeloren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We just stayed at the Hotel Ballard while visiting family in Ballard. We are so happy this hotel opened. The location is great; there are so many restaurants and cute stores surrounding the hotel. We ate twice at the Stoneburner; it was excellent. There is also a cute bakery across the street -- Fresh Flours -- that opens early if you are on East Coast time like us. The ambience at the hotel is very sophisticated boutique hotel. We stayed in one of the roof suites and we just loved the decor and all the amenities. We were also very happy with the service. There was a mixup with our reservation and Jaime at the front desk went out of her way to rectify the situation for us and make sure we were satisfied with our room. We will definitely be coming back on our next trip to Seattle. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Booked accommodation didn't work out & discovered this hotel at the last minute. Great find, small European style hotel in the funky Ballard District of Seattle. Thoroughly enjoyed 3 day stay here. Young staff friendly and helpful. Excellent location for sightseeing via mass transit and private car. Lots of great places to eat nearby on lively Ballard ave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamydoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This beautifully appointed location in Ballard is a great destination for a romantic weekend, or a luxurious stop on a business trip. My suite was on the 5th floor and was clean, elegant and very roomy. A huge soaking tub went unused because of my schedule, but was very enticing. I wish the air register had been quieter, but regardless slept very well in the fabulous sheets and perfect mattress. Fun neighborhood. Easy drive from downtown.

Room Tip: No breakfast available, but great spot down the street (Fresh Flour) served a spectacular latte and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winewish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brimfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Ballard for 3 days. It is a brand new hotel. So of course it is very clean and pretty (even the elevators are really nice). The staff is super friendly and helpful, they even checked all restaurants around town to see who was open on July 4th, which was very helpful.

I love the street it is on. Really top notch restaurants (walrus and carpenter, staple and fancy were great). Also all kinds of shopping options. This area is about 10 minutes drive to downtown seattle. We had so much fun here that we only went downtown once for a Seattle Sounders game.

The street is very lively so we were a little worried about the noise. The room we were in had a balcony which was great. Once you closed the balcony doors it went from noisy to dead silence. We were impressed.

Overall we loved our stay, honestly if they put a kitchen in our room I could live here forever. The only negative things I can think of is that the room could use some literature about the area and maybe some more clothes hangers, other than that perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viinnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I recently stayed at the brand new Hotel Ballard. What a lovely experience. Some of the friendliest staff I have ever encountered in the Seattle area-especially at the front desk. Everyone was so helpful and patient.

This boutique hotel has 29 rooms so it feels delightfully personal. I love the décor. Modern without feeling cold. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were well equipped. Only negative note, and it strictly is a personal one, is that they use the upscale Molton & Brown products. If you have allergies to strong fragrances, like I do, bring your own amenities as they really heady. Nice upscale touch though if you are not allergic.

The hotel has a nice lobby to gather in. A restaurant is under construction which will be a nice addition. There is a fantastic health club adjoining the hotel with a lovely pool for guests use.

This was my first stay in Ballard and I loved walking around and seeing all the funky little shops, great little restaurants and bakeries that are oh so Seattle. Is it even possible to get bad or unimaginative food in the Seattle area?

We ate a Mexican restaurant and a BBQ place both across the street on opposite sides of the building. Both were good but next time I will walk a little farther and go to the new Oyster Bar that looked great. Lots of great restaurants and bars everywhere.

A nice peaceful break from the hectic traffic and nasty people in Downtown Seattle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanisSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis W, General Manager at Hotel Ballard, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear JanisSpokane,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay! We are thrilled that you chose Hotel Ballard for your trip to Seattle and were able to visit a few of the many great surrounding restaurants. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. During your next visit we will be happy to provide an alternative bath amenities. Thank you again for the great feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#3 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ballard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ballard

Property: Hotel Ballard
Address: 5216 Ballard Ave NW, Seattle, WA 98107-4860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Ballard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ballard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ballard is the pinnacle of excellence among boutique hotels in North Seattle. Conveniently located in the heart of historic Ballard, we are the only boutique hotel in the Ballard, Fremont, Magnolia, and Wallingford neighborhoods. Whether you come for business or pleasure, Hotel Ballard’s 29 luxurious and elegantly appointed rooms offer all the comforts of home and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ballard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing