We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Home in Heart of Seattle”
other travelers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Room
Study
Study
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Hallways
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Downstairs Bedroom (Secluded)
The Downstairs Bedroom (Secluded)
The Downstairs Bedroom (Secluded)
The Downstairs Bedroom
The Downstairs Bedroom
Second Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Downstairs Bathroom
Downstairs Bathroom
Downstairs Bathroom
Patio
Lower Level Terrace
Entrance
Street
Kitchen
Eating Deck outside dining room
Arbor
Dining Deck with BBQ
Hom View from yard
Living Room w/Flat Screen TV
Main House Entry
Master Bath
First Floor Open Room, bed closed
View of Bed Closed
First Floor Layout
Second Floor Layout
Third floor Layout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Seattle, Washington

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Julie K
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Home in Heart of Seattle”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This lovely home is located across the street from the Washington Park Arboretum. Beautiful large trees on the property and in neighborhood make it feel very private. The location has easy access to Downtown, Pike Market, Space Needle, Waterfront and Lake Washington among others. The home is very comfortable and cosy. A kitchen fit for a gourmand was my favorite. With Trader Joe's several blocks away, you are never in need of fabulous food for great meals. It is easy to get around by car in Seattle or if you don't like city driving, public transportation is a great option. Madison Ave, less than 1 block away is a street that runs from Lake Washington to the Seattle Waterfront. We simply loved this home and location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2017
Thank you, Julie, for your lovely review!
We're so pleased you and David had a good stay, and do come back!
All best,
Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
whittlefa...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well positioned house to access Downtown Seattle and the surrounding area.”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house is spacious and is on three levels, which gave all family members a bit of their own 'space' to chill after long days out sightseeing. There was plenty of reading material, games and TV selection when wanting to relax.

There are a couple of supermarkets in either direction of the house. If considering budget -the one up at the waterfront was well stocked but a little expensive, while the other had a lesser range of goods but was cheaper. About 5 minutes away on the bus towards downtown there is a Safeway.

The house is a couple of minutes from the bus stop and the buses run frequently into Seattle, with the journey taking about 15 minutes. The area surrounding the house is lovely.

The main attractions in Seattle are well signposted and found to be enjoyable. We came across The Sculpture Park by accident and sadly were unable to look around all of it. There was a sculputre by Jaume Plensa called Echo; in my town, St Helens UK, there is also a Plensa sculputre called Dream, so if you are in Seattle pack your sandwiches and go for a walk around the Sculpture Park.

Overall, the house, the location and the people made our time in Seattle fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and facilities
Liked least: The bedrooms on the ground floor were very gloomy due to the lack of light from the surrounding trees
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2016
Hi Carol,
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you had a good time! and now I am curious about Jaume Plensa! Please come stay with us again when you return to Seattle!
Looking forward,
Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleanor L...
2 reviews
“Great property in fantastic location”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The Urban Retreat is only about 3 miles from downtown Seattle but is an a lovely location surrounded by trees. Madison Park is a few minutes walk away, and there are regular buses into Seattle. We didn't have a hire car for a first couple of days so used the buses and ate at the local Pizzeria. We got groceries from Burts which was about a 15 minute walk down the road - a few minutes further on and we found the Madison Bay area with lots of restaurants and a beach on Lake Washington. Once we'd got the car we were able to explore further afield including a trip to the Mount Ranier National Park, and also the Boeing Factory at Everett.

The photos on the webpages give you a really good idea of the house and its layout. We loved the outside area with the decking, and also the sense of space. The house was very well equipped, there wasn't anything we needed that wasn't available. The only minor downside I can think of is that the WiFi was a bit intermittent.

Would definitely recommend this property as a base if you want to experience Seattle and the surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - close to central Seattle but in a quiet residential area
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2016
Hi Eleanor,
Thank you so much for your lovely positive review! I'm so glad you had a great time in Seattle! I wish you had told me about the wifi issue, as we could have fixed that. Sorry for that frustration!
If your travels bring you back to Seattle, we'd love for you to come back to our Seattle Urban Retreat!
All best,
Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B
Carson City, Nevada, United States
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Jewel”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at the "Castle" was flawless in every way . Everything you could need in a rental was available in an architectural many faceted jewel. Easy access to Public Transit, Lake Washington, Lake Union, downtown Seattle, and the Madison neighborhood Parks, Cafes, Pubs and shops made it all pleasant and easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2016
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at our Seattle Urban Retreat, Michael! Thank you, and do come back!
Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarvy
Las Vegas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

In the last ten years my husband and I have travelled on vacation to different parts of the world and have stayed in so many different types of accommodations. This lovely home will constitute our fist time enjoying a "home away from home" experience. The house is located walking distance from many restaurants, shops and the like. The house is equipped with everything necessary to make one feel at home. My telephone and e-mail exchanges with the owner were informative, helpful and pleasant. The rental of this home made our visit to Seattle a very successful experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkiDavi...
Pflugerville, Texas
1 review
“Truly a retreat in urban Seattle”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My family stayed here for almost a week, and everyone couldn't stop saying that they never wanted to leave. The property that the house is located on is absolutely gorgeous. While the place is pretty close into town, the thickly wooded lot truly feels like a getaway in your own private forest. The big windows in the dining and living areas make it so that you can sip your coffee or eat breakfast while admiring the trees.

The house itself is well equipped. There are nice toiletries available, and the kitchen had everything I needed. I know that another reviewer mentioned beaten up cookware, but this seemed to be limited to the teflon hanging up. A little digging in the cupboards revealed plenty of nice steel cookware, and there's everything from aluminum foil to zip-lock bags available. There is a nice tea kettle, teapot, espresso machine, and coffee beans. It almost felt like a neighbor had just stepped out and let us stay in the house for a week.

The location of the property is fantastic. It's right on the bus line, and yet it also has a nice alley carport. There are many places that are within walking distance, and it's a short drive from downtown. There's a Safeway and Trader Joe's right down the street, and a lovely garden that's practically across the street.

This house is filled with books. The living room is home to a considerable collection. There's also a reading room upstairs that's filled with books, and has a comfy reading chair. I found my husband curled up in there many times.

The only couple of problems that I would have are that the grill was not in good shape (it hadn't been cleaned, and the available brush was practically worn to a stump), and that we were asked in the provided guidelines on-site to wash at least a couple of loads of bedsheets before we leave. Given that I had no prior knowledge of this, along with the fact that we had a tight schedule to get down to Mount Hood on the day of checkout, this was less than ideal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cozy feel and secluded nature atmosphere
Liked least: minor upkeep issues
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing