We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our Seattle stay at The Shelby”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
109 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Seattle, Washington

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 109 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Phred72
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our Seattle stay at The Shelby”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were travelling with another couple. Our stay at the Shelby was great--location was perfect and the unit was very nice. It was hot in Seattle (a rarity, we hear), so we needed to call and request another fan; but they were pretty quick in getting one to us. The street out front (by master bedroom) is a bit noisy, but if you are there when the windows are closed, you'd hardly notice! And when we got the fan, it helped to muffle the street noise! The kitchen had everything we needed, loved the dining area and living room. I would definitely stay here again--and will definitely try another Stay Alfred location!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location in relation to most attractions.
Liked least: I did not like that it was not air conditioned, but understand that it is seldom hot in Seattle and most places are not airconditioned!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2015
Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, despite the rare heat wave, and will hopefully be staying with us again the in the future. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T1thom
Riverside, California
1 review
“Stay Alfred, great place to stay in Seattle”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Large, extremely clean and great location. Our 2 bedroom two bath unit was perfect for our 3 day stay in Seattle. I wouldn't stay anyplace else if visiting Seattle again.
Of course there are always a few minor draw backs. One bedroom window is just above the chimney of the sports bar next door so we didn't open it up due to the smell of their cooking and there is a fire station about a block away so a few sirens awoke us. You should bring your own salt, pepper and laundry detergent as our unit 's was 99% gone. Also, while parking is free, it is tight. We rented a Camry and wished we had something a little smaller.
The largest draw back it that traffic/driving in downtown Seattle is "interesting" but that has nothing to do with Stay Alfred!
Bottom line, We would/will stay there again and highly recommend Stay Alfred and this location!!!!!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Size & cleanliness
Liked least: Smoke from sports bar next door
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your time in Seattle despite the few drawbacks. We have passed along your feedback to our cleaners to ensure that all of our properties are fully stocked in order to give our guests the best experiences possible. Keep us in mind for your next trip so we are able to continue to provide you with a 5-star experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judy c
Lincoln, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed May 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The condo was clean and comfortable, well furnished and with adequate dishes for a group of four. The location is excellent...we took cabs (never more than 6-7 blocks to a destination) and walked most places. Nice weight room. I would have given an excellent rating, but the building is on a VERY loud and busy corner...lots of sirens and buses...We checked and found the windows were double paned, but they did not block the noise. We could hear the talking (and some serious fighting) below our window...Earplugs are a must! Would have liked a tv in master suite.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2015
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback! Our centralized locations can be a bit lively, so we're considering providing earplugs. Let us know next time you're in town, so we can give you a 5-star experience!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocktraba...
1 review
“Perfect apartment conveniently located near just about everything.”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This place left little to desire. It was downtown. Walking distance to the Needle, Puke Market, Westlake Ctr/ Monorail. A Whole foods. The apt itself was very clean and very spacious. I went with my husband, 1yr old and in-laws and there was more than enough space. The way Stay Alfred sets it up you never even need to speak to anyone cause you get passwords and lockbox. It was a great experience overall. We stayed a whole week and have no complaints.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback! We love our guests, and we love knowing you had such a great time. Let us know next time you're in town, and we'll give you another 5-star experience!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
25mary82
Camarillo, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location. Plenty of space.”
Reviewed February 26, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My husband, adult son, son's girlfriend and I spent 6 days. It was the perfect location for seeing Seattle. It was a close walk to downtown and the harbor. I appreciated having locked parking, and there was never a problem finding a space. The apartment was spacious and clean, but did have a slight musty smell in the entryway. It was nice to have a full kitchen and a washer and dryer. I would recommend this place to others.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback! We love our guests, and we love knowing you had such a great time. We've addressed the smell you mentioned. Let us know next time you're in town, so we can give you a 5-star experience!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jef I
Chico, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location.. conveniences of home”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Second time staying with family downtown in this type of rental to do touristy things. Nice condo with adequate furnishings and kitchen set-up. Paid extra for daily parking and very worth it. Walked most places. Shopped and ate in for breakfast and some dinners. 2nd floor unit does have a lot of street noise (on the corner) from partying pedestrians (and vehicles.... but that's ok).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: noise from street
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback! We love our guests, and we love knowing you had such a great time. Let us know next time you're in town, and we'll give you another 5-star experience!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your honest feedback. It's our goal to consistently deliver the best vacation rentals in the most desirable downtown locations, and it's gratifying to know we hit our mark. Please let us know next time you come to town, so we can deliver another 5-star experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing