We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swanky French Cuisine in Fremont”
Review of Whale Wins

Whale Wins
Ranked #331 of 4,109 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Swanky French Cuisine in Fremont”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I had read that this new restaurant in Fremont was quite good and wanted to try it out myself. I had a vendor in town for an installation on a robot that we had purchased from them and suggested we try it out for lunch. The first time we tried, we arrived at 12:30 and there was too long of a line and we had to go elsewhere in the time we had allotted. Fast forward to this past Monday and we were able to walk right in and get a table at 11:45.

The menu has a number of different sections and they encourage ordering and sharing family style. We ordered what might be the best croissants I've ever had and a chevre with bread for appetizers. Both were very good and I loved the jam that came with both - apricot I think, though my memory might be faulty here.

The asparagus we ordered as a vegetable was OK, but not anyone's favorite option. For the main courses, we tried the clams (again, an interesting flavor, but not anyone's favorite preparation), the chicken (absolutely fabulous and extremely moist), and the special of the day which was a homemade sausage (again, fabulous and perfectly spiced).

While each individual option is around $10 - $15, the ala carte nature of the menu means you should probably expect to spend somewhere around $25 per person for lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cliff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    45
    18
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Whale Wins has a great atmosphere, with bright white trim and tables, lots of light (at least on a 75 degree day like yesterday!) Has a fun counter where you can sit and watch what is happening. And the service is beyond top-notch. Servers spent time explaining items, chatting with us, made us feel welcome and relaxed. Noise level was also minimal even though it was quite busy by the time we left at 6:30.
Some of the dishes our group tried were quite nice, pea vine salad was tasty, fresh, great textures. However if you like a lightly dressed salad ask for it on the side or lightly dressed. I asked for it on the side but the server said not necessary as it was only oil and lemon. Well you can still have much oil and lemon I discovered, so I won't make that mistake again.
The pickled vegetables were very fresh, but do beware that the vegetables are not equally "pickled." One minute your tasting a mild pickle flavor, and the next minute your mouth is twisting and turning with a huge pickle flavor. Not bad, just beware.
One person ordered the chicken, it smelled and looked great, and she said it was very nice.
The biggest disappointment was the dessert, "Rhubarb Mess." We were told it was crumble, rhubarb and whip cream. It is most certainly not a crumble, It is a very large scoop of fresh whip cream, with four thin slices of rhubarb. $8 for an item that couldn't possibly cost half to prepare, gave us a bad attitude (and no dessert as we didn't eat the cream.)
I would certainly go back to Whale Wins, I would avoid certain items.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank got2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Small plates, big flavors”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This offshoot of the hot Walrus and the Carpenter is a wonderful choice for a casual but very rewarding dining experience. Everything is good but the roasted carrots and fennel is a dish I could live on. Excellent and reasonably-priced wine list and great service complete the picture.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JWW660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
112 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great New Restaurant”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Every item we ordered was very good. The standouts for us were the roasted root vegetables with harissa; the perfectly cooked trout; the bone marrow; the flavorful bread; and the desserts. It was clear to us that a a lot of thought went into the menu, which took a seasonal approach to dishes. Service was professional and the restaurant is sleek and bright (in a good way). My only quibble: I do wish this restaurant would take reservations. We arrived soon after it opened for dinner and were seated right away but we observed a steady and growing stream of people come and go and come back and wait. Having people stare hungrily at us while we ate took a little away from our enjoyment of a meal. We ate quickly and did not linger over our coffee but requested the check as soon as we finished our desserts.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alaskatravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, IL
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Taste treats, but know these things before going”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a wonderful newish spot in/near Seattle's Queen Anne neighborhood, authored by the Boat Street Cafe crew. Dishes are varied, tasty and different, most finished or prepared entirely in the open-fire applewood oven. Nice. Seasonal approach is perfect. We enjoyed roasted fennel and pickled vegetables for appetizers; a whole trout (amazing), Dungeness crab in harissa sauce, and roasted pork shoulder for entrees. With a super lemon tart and a rhubarb mess (yes!) for dessert. Wine list is affordable and to-the-point. But . . . despite waiter's counsel that food is ample per order, it's not. This is definitely a small plate place. So order several plates to share . . . and sometimes two of the same thing. Can be drafty and cold . . . if you're easily chilled, get a booth toward the back, not a table by the windows. Expect a wait list if you arrive after 6:30 p.m (no reservations).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TightLine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale Wins also viewed

 

Been to Whale Wins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing