We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious, but often a wait”
Review of Hot Cakes

Hot Cakes
Ranked #15 of 120 Bakeries in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Oregon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious, but often a wait”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We loved hotcakes (who doesn't?), but the big line out the door can be intimidating. Perhaps they need more seating? The desserts are delicious, however, so if you have the time, then get in the cue!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jetfiretraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    31
    13
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Molten Lava Cake”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Looking for Molten Lava Cake, but don't want to eat a big meal. This is your spot. Go in and order a yummy dessert and they will fix it for you in a flash.
Various flavors. Also, they have ones to fix at home.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seattletravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GO!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

After visiting the Ballard Locks, we stopped to eat at a nearby restaurant. Our waitress told us that one of her favorite dessert locations in Seattle was "Hot Cakes" in Ballard. We decided to check it out. It was AMAZING! This section of Ballard is so cute - small town/downtown feel, easy parking, lots of other shops and restaurants nearby.

Our group of 4 got a variety of things to try - drinking caramel (like a hot chocolate, but hot caramel instead - excellent!), caramel milkshake (mmm!), crème brule, molten dark chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream, and molten dark chocolate-peanut butter cake with vanilla ice cream. Everything was excellent, and VERY memorable!

This is a place we'll *definitely* visit on every trip to Seattle. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArugulaRocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decadence in a bowl”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Wonderful spot for a delicious desert. Artisan chocolate deserts, and a few other flavours thrown in. I was told the Creme Brûlée is a good counterbalance to have along with the chocolate but they were sold out when we went. Artisan environment, and cafe feel make it a fun place for sweets.

There are lineups, so plan to wait. Suggestion if there are a few of you: Get a few different ones and share tastes. Its almost too decadent for one person to eat all at once. Unless you want a real sugar rush.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank papermaker28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
127 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Run!! For all chocolate lovers & Many Gluten free choices!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We shared a molten chocolate cake and I would fly to Seattle just for this dessert. This is the best molten chocolate cake that we have ever had. It is worth the wait. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cabernetMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Cakes also viewed

 

Been to Hot Cakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing