We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fat Hen Brunchtastic”
Review of The Fat Hen

The Fat Hen
Ranked #18 of 137 Coffee & Tea in Seattle
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Fat Hen Brunchtastic”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The Fat Hen is a Ballard standouts serving some of the area’s best brunch plates. The charming rustic café can have an hour+ queue on the weekend, but the baked eggs and variety of eggs benedicts are very rewarding. Once seated, feel free to indulge a little bit more with a pastry or two. Come to the Fat Hen when you’re ready to relax, enjoy and Instagram that beautiful spread of food. It’ll be well worth it.

Pics http://www.foodhipster206.com/seattle-food/fat-hen-brunch/

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davenguyen206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    13
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful find hidden away in north Ballard”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I never knew these few businesses were even here. We stopped in for coffee and a piece of wonderful orange pound cake made with almond flour. Very intensely orange and not overly sweet, nice large slice as well. What a surprise. I returned for an excellent lunch of cassoulet and bread. Tasty, hot on a cold blustery day. I will have to try them for dinner. It's a small place, very casual, only a few tables, a counter, but they know how to cook.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dickanddoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Get a window seat”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Ballard is adorable, and the Fat Hen is no exception! I had one of the egg skillets with mozzarella and basil. To die for! It was recommended by a friend and he was totally right.

We waited about a half hour on a saturday morning for 3 people, but it was to be expected. The restaurant is on the smaller side, i wouldn't recommend bringing a large group.

There was a cute coffee/pastry shop across the street where we passed the time easily until we were seated! One of my favorite meals in Seattle.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reneec156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Oooo La La !!! Simple Elegance, Breakfast Par Excellence”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The best breakfast experience ever !!! This place is gourmet breakfast par excellence. Almost don't want the public to know about it. Located in Ballard, The Fat Hen is the brilliant concept of Linnea and her chef husband. The entire menu is exquisite you cannot go wrong. The owners work there everyday and love what they do. It is small but quaint and charming. Get there asap.....Thanks Linnea for a wonderful concept (wish I was an investor).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Molto bene! Left feeling happy and satisfied”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My experience at The Fat Hen was perfect! The food was excellent, with the most delectable Hollandaise sauce on the fresh Chantrelle benedict. Coffee: delicious.
We weren't happy with our original seats, so the staff moved us. She was gracious and accomodating.
I intend to eat there on a regular basis.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BizTravelerSeattleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Hen also viewed

 

Been to The Fat Hen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing