We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Korean Fusion in the middle of it all”
Review of Chan

Chan
Ranked #46 of 4,098 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Korean, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Chan Seattle is a Korean Gastropub located in the heart of Seattle's historic Pike Place Market. Our cuisine is prepared with locally grown, fresh, seasonal ingredients. Chan is a distinctive style of dining not found in other Korean restaurants. Our open kitchen provides diners with an exciting look into the preparation of Korean food and drink. Our restaurant offer small, shareable portions served as several courses allowing diners to experience the flavor of both traditional and modern Korean food. Our full bar features Asian-inspired specialty cocktails, drink specials, beer and wine.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tasty Korean Fusion in the middle of it all”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This restaurant was one of the last we ate at on my recent trip to Seattle. My friend and I walked in and sat at the bar immediately. The waitress was slightly aloof, but the place was small, packed and the smell of bulgolgi hung in the air. It was very clean and the cooks were all very skilled (open kitchen completely visible from bar). We were tempted by the two tasting menus, but decided on the traditional tasting as the best judge for this little restaurant (only 36 seats the server informed me).

As the courses came I was surprised at how large the portions were! It is definitely a good idea to go hungry. Every bit of the menu was delicious, even their kimchi was great.

Reservations are recommended for this chic little Korean bistro in the heart of Pike Place Market, this restaurant is owned by the same restauranteurs as Bacco right next door in the same building.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tucsondood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    38
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
118 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Korean Virgin”
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

This was the first time my wife and I tried Korean food. The wings were fabulous. The fried oysters were also great. Very clean looking, good service and entertaining watching the kitchen staff right in front of you.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jemurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very cool Korean fusion in Pike Market”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

cha:n is lots of fun! Tiny, very well designed bar/restaurant in a little closet space under the Inn at the Market. Great modern and traditional takes of Korean classics (Bulgogi sliders, anyone?). For such a small kitchen the menu is ambitious and they pull it off well. Service is very friendly. I don't drink but the liquor and wine selection looked interesting. Big fun to sit at the bar and watch the kitchen staff and barkeep in action.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RDM888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Get the authentic experience”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Grab a bottle (or two) of Sojou (spelling) and sit down to enjoy the traditional menu. Reservations are recommended. As a group we had a little bit of everything from the traditional menu and it was the most memorable dinner from our week in Seattle. Wings, spicy soup, braised beef, and the pancakes come to mind though I had many other fantastic dishes.

Service was good not great, not bad enough to bump it down to 4 stars. Very pricey to the point of being overpriced, but like most downtown urban areas there is a large concentration of people with a good bit of money so...supply and demand I suppose.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Devon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I'm still a novice to Korean cuisine, but I really enjoyed the food here. Despite just having had a good review in the Seattle Times, it was overly full. On the same day, we easily made 6:30 reservations online. They sat us 30 minutes early and we cheerfully enjoyed the happy hour pricing until 7 PM on a Saturday night.

They offer traditional and modern (fusion) variants of Korean food. We sampled from each side of the menu, although there is a prix fixe option for either at $30 and $35, respectively, with seven dishes plus dessert. We started with the ahi tuna tartare tossed in a soy ginger dressing, which was served with a bit of daikon radish and chili oil. Each bite was yielding and had a pleasant combination of flavors.

We had the kimchi sampler – cucumbers, daikon radish, and cabbage all fermented in pungent chili, vinegar, and salt. These dishes were simple and well prepared.

Next were the deep fried chicken wings (really drumettes, I think) with a chili caramel glaze and rolled in crushed peanuts and scallions. They were physically hot, fresh from the fryer, and spicy hot in a delightful way that kept you going back for more bites.

We finished with a fusion style bibimbap done in a cast iron skillet with a spicy sauce and the braised short ribs. I wished the bibimbap had twice as much bulgogi.

The ribs were tender and very tasty, and had a slow simmering heat that lingered.

The food was really excellent. The preparations were thoughtful, well executed, and expertly plated. I applaud chef Heong soon Park; he will be a rising star to watch.

The front of the house is run by his wife. She and our server were polite and kind, but seemed to lack the polish of professionals. They were sweet to us, but seemed to miss a few queues. With time, they will be as smooth as the chef.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chan also viewed

 

Been to Chan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing