We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small Korean Restaurant”
Review of Chan

Chan
Ranked #35 of 4,168 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Chan Seattle is a Korean Gastropub located in the heart of Seattle's historic Pike Place Market. Our cuisine is prepared with locally grown, fresh, seasonal ingredients. Chan is a distinctive style of dining not found in other Korean restaurants. Our open kitchen provides diners with an exciting look into the preparation of Korean food and drink. Our restaurant offer small, shareable portions served as several courses allowing diners to experience the flavor of both traditional and modern Korean food. Our full bar features Asian-inspired specialty cocktails, drink specials, beer and wine.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice small Korean Restaurant”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great little Korean restaurant that opened about 6 months ago. They do stay open late, but have a happy hour from 5 to 7. The beef dish was exceptional and the tuna was very fresh. Nice & Spicy kimchi too!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Canmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    44
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Seek it out!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Attentive, friendly service, high quality food. Great fusion of traditional Korean with local items and French techniques. The prices are extremely reasonable. Sit at the counter/bar and wonder at the attention to detail the chef and staff apply to every dish. Great place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wacomick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Intriguing food - but delicious”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Love the ambiance and the fact that it was all "tapas" plate. Small portion but priced accordingly. We were there during "happy hour" however depending of what you wish to order, the price of the happy hour will be more than the regular menu, so check it out. Ex: the panko oyster ended up being cheaper from the regular menu where you got 8 of them, as opposed to only 3 for more than half price of regular menu. Don't hesitate to ask the server the portion that comes with Happy Hour and Regular menu and make you choice accordingly.
We had the panko oyster (big and delicious) the wings (a bit fatty), the tuna tartar ( very very very good!), pork mini sliders (my hubby fought for the last one) the braised ribs beef (good but very small portion even from regular menu and a bit pricey), 2 condiments dishes and few other plates. Overall, great food and great service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pounette166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hidden Korean gem at the Pike Place Market”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

First, forget everything you think you know about Korean food. Next get ready for one of the most impeccable dining experiences in any cuisine. Cha:n is aptly described as the best of traditional Korean fused with French novelle cuisine cooking techniques. The results are delicious! Using locally sourced organic ingredients and meticulously creative recipes, Korean/American Chef Park presents a menu that is both unique - half traditional and half modern preparations - and a delight in presentation, not to mention taste. As an added bonus, many of the dishes can be prepared strictly vegan. I would be tempted to order an all vegan dinner there - if his bulgogi beef wasn't so darned good! Most every dish is served on small plates perfect for sharing.

Speaking of bulgogi beef - Cha:n's modern side of the menu offers sliders that are an addiction. Two to an order, custom baked grill toasted brioch buns come piled high with sizzling bulgogi beef that is smoky, sweet and tangy in a sublime combination.

If you are as big a fan of Bi Bim Bab (a rice bowl with vegetables and meat, topped with a chicken egg) as I am, then you will have come to the right place. Offering both a traditional and modern take on this classic dish, Cha:n's is without a doubt the best I've ever enjoyed.

Cha:n offers a short list of interesting cocktails. Favorites include the Sojito (a Mojito made with Soju - a Korean spirit sort of like a sweetened vodka), and the Ginger Makgeolli - an mix of unfiltered rice beer snd ginger that is low alcohol, refreshing and delicious. I've given up trying to pronounce Makgeolli and just order 'that ginger thing' - they know what I mean. Also available is a decent small but excellent selection of Soju in small bottles.

The restaurant is cozy, intimate and comfortable. Small table great for couples, as well as larger tables for families and parties. My favorite is to sit at the bar and watch the chefs at work.

Worth the hide-and-seek - Cha:n is tucked into the Pine street side of the Inn at the Market.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 444RayS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Yum, yum, yum!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Ever since Chan opened, we had been wanting to go and last night (Wednesday), we had the opportunity to go a little before Happy Hour ended. The servers were so friendly and made us feel very welcomed. When we asked our server what he'd recommend, he pretty much recommended everything on the Happy Hour menu! We ended up ordering two orders of bulgogi sliders, one pork belly slider, one fried chicken wings (3 pieces), banchan, and mussels. The cocktails were a bit too sweet for us, so the next time we go, we might not get any cocktails; perhaps beer or another beverage. However, the food. So. Excellent. Banchan started us off right and when the bulgogi sliders came, I just melted. I'm still dreaming of them and will definitely be returning for more. The pork belly slider was equally delicious but I am more of a bulgogi fan. The chicken wings were bursting with flavor, too. The mussels were fine. We cannot wait to go back there again!

They are currently only open for Happy Hour and dinner, but I believe their plan is to be open for lunch. Not sure when that will happen. I'd check their website (http://www.chanseattle.com) and make sure they are open for lunch if that's your plan. However, if I were a tourist, I'd probably lunch somewhere near the market (so many delicious choices) and dine here for Happy Hour or dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pumpkin_Cupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing