We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!”
Review of Altura Restaurant

Altura Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Altura Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #74 of 4,137 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $75 - $200
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: BROADWAY E & ROY ST
Transit: Stops for bus lines 9, 49 and 60 within one block.
Description: Altura restaurant applies the focus of ingredient-driven Italian cooking to the natural bounty of the Pacific Northwest. Our chefs work tirelessly each day to highlight the most exciting seasonal products. Chef Nathan Lockwood's tasting menu is at the heart of the Altura approach to dining. With a focus on wild foraged products, pristine Puget Sound seafood and locally raised heirloom meats and vegetables, our tasting menu exemplifies who we are. Expect to spend between two and three hours enjoying ten to fifteen courses of our most inspired dishes. For a less structured approach, diners are welcome to design their own experience by choosing three or more courses from our traditional menu. Our team of Sommeliers is always on hand to design a unique flight of paired wines or help you find the perfect bottle to highlight your experience. We invite you to join us on Capitol Hill to celebrate seasonal cuisine, exceptional wine and gracious service.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“OMG!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We sat at the counter and did the tasting menu. What a phenomenal taste experience! Not inexpensive but totally worth it. This is a place to impress a date or a spouse.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DVenturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    31
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Spectacular food, and prices to match”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Dinner at Altura is a remarkable experience. The food and presentation are about as close to perfection as humans can make it. And for such a small space the menu is remarkably varied, as is the wine list. You will, however, pay dearly for the experience. Dinner for two, with one of their more moderately prices bottles, will probably cost over $200.

Service is great, but not spectacular. The Capitol Hill setting is nice, but again nothing spectacular. And although the room is certainly intimate it's perhaps just a bit too "industrial" to make it a great place for a romantic dinner. This is one restaurant where the food is the star, and it's Oscar caliber.

Note that Altura is one of Seattle's "hot" restaurants right now, so reservations are essential. We booked 3 weeks in advance for a Friday night and could not get a seating (party of 4) until 8:00.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skeptic2241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best dinner....ever!”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Wow - if you're a foodie, this is the place for you.
If you enjoy watching food artistry in action, sit at the bar and watch them cook and plate (very artfully) the meals.
EVERY single dish was superb.
Well worth the price -- a good place for special occasions.
Very small restaurant with extremely helpful and attentive wait staff. In talking with one of the wait staff, she said she had never worked harder. I believe it.
Fun to chat with the chef/owner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank k j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I went here to celebrate my new job. I spent the most money I ever have at a restaurant and it did not disappoint. The kitchen is open for the whole restaurant to see and it was mesmerizing watching the chefs meticulously make and prepare all the dishes. Really cool experience. It's crazy how quickly the move yet make everything so perfectly.

We got one of the tasting courses and the food was fantastic. We also did the wine pairing and I had one of the best pinor noirs in my life - Spatburgunder 2010.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Altura Rocks”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great front of the house and great food. An enjoyable experience that gave us a lot to choose from and everything was pretty darn good. Will come back

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altura Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Altura Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing