We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lifechanging meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altura Restaurant

Altura Restaurant
617 Broadway E., Seattle, WA 98102
+1 206-402-6749
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Altura Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 3,899 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $75 - $200
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: BROADWAY E & ROY ST
Transit: Stops for bus lines 9, 49 and 60 within one block.
Description: Altura restaurant applies the focus of ingredient-driven Italian cooking to the natural bounty of the Pacific Northwest. Our chefs work tirelessly each day to highlight the most exciting seasonal products. Chef Nathan Lockwood's tasting menu is at the heart of the Altura approach to dining. With a focus on wild foraged products, pristine Puget Sound seafood and locally raised heirloom meats and vegetables, our tasting menu exemplifies who we are. Expect to spend between two and three hours enjoying ten to fifteen courses of our most inspired dishes. For a less structured approach, diners are welcome to design their own experience by choosing three or more courses from our traditional menu. Our team of Sommeliers is always on hand to design a unique flight of paired wines or help you find the perfect bottle to highlight your experience. We invite you to join us on Capitol Hill to celebrate seasonal cuisine, exceptional wine and gracious service.
Queretaro, Mexico
Level Contributor
179 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Lifechanging meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Try the chef's tasting menu, or design your own! They're super flexible with letting you pick how many courses. And please please please go with the wine pairings. The sommelier is very good and chooses a great variety of complementary wines.

Don't miss the beef carpaccio, the basil fed snails, and veal ravioli. Desserts are great too!

Do make reservations. The counter would be fun and really make the night for a foodie.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    25
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Taste ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Besides the hostess didn't have a clue about parking when asked, the service was great. The food has too much going on, which make them a little bland. Definitely no burst of flavor. I ranked this restaurant using 100 Meneiras, Lisbon, Portugal as benchmark and this restaurant is a bit behind, despite to be proclaimed to be best in Seattle

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Imran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top nosh...a little pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a top restaurant in Seattle...well in Capitol Hill...2 miles from downtown.
The food is thoughtful and the menu is quite unusual.
I couldn't get a table til 9.30 but would have eaten at the bar if I had known.
Capitol Hill is a trendy relaxed part of town and this restaurant is the same. A casual place, with great service and top food.
Do not expect huge portions and do expect to pay a high price...we paid 180 dollars for 3 courses and a bottle of wine.

Great for romance...not for kids

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank family_guy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was the first time to Altura and it was a great experience. We sat at the bar which was fun because you could watch the chefs at work. The food was excellent and so was the service. The food was beautifully prepared. A little bit on the pricey side, but that wouldn't deter us from returning, just maybe for special occasions.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ElaineLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“If the tables are booked, you won't be disappointed at the bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've been to Altura several times and it has become one of my top picks for Seattle restaurants! Everything is cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. We've enjoyed bringing friends for a table of 4, or sitting at the bar alone. If you're fortunate, you'll catch the chef and his crew exploring new ideas together. The service is fantastic and I always leave wanting to come back for more. Altura is an experience and a great place to take your favorite dinner mates.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altura Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Altura Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing