We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a good idea what to expect.....loved the experience”
Review of Panama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Panama Hotel
Ranked #88 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We had a good idea what to expect.....loved the experience”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We arrived at Seattle airport and travelled by train into Downtown. As we had only one day in Seattle we wanted location but did not want to outlay too much to have a bed for the night. We had an early Amtrak train to catch the next day and it was the easiest stroll to the station.
The cost of the the Panama given its location is excellent value given the high average prices commanded by Seattle hotels. We had read previous reviews so we had a very good idea of what to expect in terms of basics such bed size, room size, toilet size and shower pressure street noise. However in saying that I was expecting these and therefore I was not unpleasantly surprised. This is a hotel proudly from earlier days and that is the experience which we liked regardless of the factors mentioned above.
There is a serious set of stairs to haul ones luggage up but this too is just part of the experience. Shout yourself a couple of well earned drinks with the money that you have saved by staying at the Panama
The history of this hotel is worth the experience.
The staff should be acknowledged for their very genuine warmth and willingness to assist. We arrived quite early and this did not faze them at all. It does make you appreciate the creature comforts that we have compared to yesteryear.Cleanliness was of a very high standard too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    41
    31
    26
    39
See reviews for
28
65
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Cerrito, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I returned from travels overseas and had reserved a room here. A nice surprise. Lots of genuine old construction and decor. A living, working, museum hotel.

The high springy bed with new comforter and pillows was very comfy. The place was very quiet. I slept well. A bath in a big lion-claw-foot-tub the next morning repaired me nicely (I asked permission to use the women's upstairs). The bathrooms are shared down the hallway, but was not a problem (personal sink in room). Complementary tea/coffee and pastry served at street level in the museum like cafe. Downtown shopping only three stops away on the nearby light rail.

This place is unique and idiosyncratic. If you enjoy novel experiences, you may like this. The staff were all courteous and willing to help. I recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Walking into the hotel room was like walking into 1940s film noir starring Bogart or Mitchum. Sink in the room, brass bed, free-standing armoire. I was at the hotel off-season and seemed to be the only guest; that meant I got two separate unofficial tours of the hotel, and given a great deal of its history, which it fascinating. The bathroom and shower were down the hall from my room--when the hotel is crowded, not sure how much of a joy that would be... The tea room attached to the hotel is amazing. It is a stone's throw from the train--easy to get to airport. This is not a place for someone looking for a spa, a porter, or a Sheraton-like experience. But if you want a comfortable and very interesting place to stay, the Panama is for you. I would to the hotel recommend a different system for taking credit card and personal information, however...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericelshtain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

By far the worst hotel I've even been to: the smell of the place is awful, the room has old furniture even for my granny and the personnel seems not experienced. I had to provide them the paper where to print my credit card receipt! On top of this, the price is not too low: 115 USD per night for single room no en suite. Stay away from it!!!
I would also pay only cash since you have to write down your credit card details in a piece of paper which is used God knows how.

Room Tip: Stay away!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enricocd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seattle hotels

Bloomington, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

My mom and I stayed here for my 18th birthday, and it was lovely. I wanted an interesting hotel, with a back-story, and she didn't want anything too bed-and-breakfast-y, so we decided on this one. Jan was welcoming and utterly sweet, Mocha (I think that was her cat's name; I remember it was coffee-related) was a purrfect darling (haha), and the rooms were lovely. There was unique art, and every piece of furniture had its own story. Also, the tea and scones in the cafe were great. My one complaint would be that the internet was kinda slow, so I'd recommend making sure your phone has plenty of data before coming here. That said, do not let that deter you! This hotel is a fascinating piece of history and a really nice place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are decorated uniquely, so if there are multiple available to choose from when you che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uhkaynuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed here with my two kids this summer they where not sure about the place at first. Its a super funky Old hotel with ton of history. The coffee/tea shop downstairs is beautiful the staff where great. The bathrooms were super clean. We ended up staying going and heading home from our train trip. Short walking distance to train station. This is a funky place to stay if your looking for some where diffrent. We cant wait to stay again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerriB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Built by Japanese immigrants in the early 20th century, the Panama Hotel was a prime location in Seattle's old Japantown. When the U.S. government, in the hysteria following Pearl Harbor, "relocated" the resident Japanese, both aliens and U.S. citizens, the hotel became a way station en route to concentration camps far removed from the west coast. Trunks and other belongings left by the refugees are still in the basement of the hotel, reminders of one of the most disgraceful and tragic episodes in United States history. The hotel is unique, and a stay is most interesting. Read "Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet", a novel in which the hotel plays a part. No en suite facilities, no A/C, no television, no telephones. But our room and the linens were clean, there is a basin in the room, and the toilet and bath were just outside the hall door. No elevators. Perhaps the best attraction of the hotel is the tea and coffee house, reviewed separately.

Room Tip: The view on the front is probably the best. Take note: the reception on the first floor is up two fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GraycatbirdHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Belltown
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#58 of 101 in Seattle
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baroness Hotel
#81 of 101 in Seattle
88 reviews
Executive Hotel Pacific
#65 of 101 in Seattle
281 reviews
Georgetown Inn
#17 of 101 in Seattle
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama Hotel

Property: Panama Hotel
Address: 605 1/2 S Main St, Seattle, WA 98104-2717
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown , International District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Panama Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Panama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panama Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing