We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Gem”
Review of Smith Tower

Smith Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.00*
and up
The Legends of Smith Tower - Observatory Access...
Ranked #32 of 468 things to do in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Enjoy Smith Tower like you've never seen it before. Immerse yourself in new exhibits that take you on a journey through the past one hundred years. Make your way to the top of the tower for an amazing vantage point from the Observatory, including an open-air deck that will give you 360-degree views of Seattle and beyond. Then take a moment to indulge in a Prohibition-inspired craft cocktails and shareable plates with a group of friends or your loved ones. And don't forget to make a wish in the Wishing Chair. It's the perfect selfie to post of your visit to Smith Tower.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Smith Tower, in the older south end of town, is a must-experience attraction. Wonderful views all the way to Mt Ranier to the south and the Olympics to the west across beautiful Puget Sound, as well as the whole panorama of the emerald city itself. The attendants are super-knowledgeable and happy to share history with you. Even the marble stairways and vintage elevator operated by a charming fellow will enchant you before entering the mesmerizing Chinese room above.

Thank linnahj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woody B, General Manager at Smith Tower, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Updated for 2017: We now have a full self-guided exhibit tour, historic elevator, wonderful craft cocktails, and the original amazing views. Come back and join us soon!
Warm regards, Smith Tower Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"chinese room"
in 92 reviews
"elevator operator"
in 41 reviews
"tallest building"
in 38 reviews
"observation deck"
in 104 reviews
"wishing chair"
in 18 reviews
"space needle"
in 160 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 21 reviews
"otis elevator"
in 10 reviews
"original elevator"
in 8 reviews
"mississippi river"
in 8 reviews
"prohibition era"
in 6 reviews
"elevator ride"
in 23 reviews
"office building"
in 9 reviews
"step back in time"
in 7 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 10 reviews
"pioneer square"
in 25 reviews
"degree view of seattle"
in 6 reviews
Filter

339 - 343 of 492 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We did both the Smith Tower and the Space Needle. The Needle cost us over $50 for 3 of us!! Smith Tower was $17.50 plus we had $1 off coupon. Smith was not crowded. It was historic and beautiful. I am so drawn to buildings like this and I'm glad they are still around. The hallway with the elevators is gold and majestic. The hand crack elevator was cool and he let my kids crack it. It prefered it to the Needle. I am glad I did the Needle but next time it's Smith only and I hope Rainier is out!

Thank janelje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woody B, General Manager at Smith Tower, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Updated for 2017: We now have a full self-guided exhibit tour, historic elevator, wonderful craft cocktails, and the original amazing views. Come back and join us soon!
Warm regards, Smith Tower Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I grew up in Seattle but didn't go up the Smith Tower till maybe 30 years later. Then, we could only peek from the observation deck through the windows but now the elevator deposits you right INSIDE the lovely Oriental Room. This July, my 23-yr old nephew and I had lunch in the International District. I asked if we could go up the Smith Tower. He was skeptical but said "OK." What others say about the glorious elevator, lobby, and price are exactly right! No need to repeat what others have said. When we got outside to the 360 degree open-air observation deck, he apologized for all the times in the past he passed on this opportunity. He pulled out his smart phone and started taking pictures, asking me about what we were seeing in all directions, marveling at how the height flattened the Seattle hills. He said he was sorry he never capitalized on my attempts over the years to get him and his sister up in the Smith Tower. Exquisite and very different views from the Space Needle. Please add this trip down memory lane to your itinerary! (When you purchase tickets, be sure to inquire about the glorious apartment above the observation deck level and its amazing storyl! Ask about the history of the Oriental Room, too.)

Thank CircGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woody B, General Manager at Smith Tower, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Updated for 2017: We now have a full self-guided exhibit tour, historic elevator, wonderful craft cocktails, and the original amazing views. Come back and join us soon!
Warm regards, Smith Tower Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a great way to see the Seattle skyline for a bargain. Be sure to check out the details of the Otis elevator as well as the tile work as you descend. There is also a book which tells you about various buildings on the skyline. Bonus is the dragon chair with mystical wishing powers!

Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woody B, General Manager at Smith Tower, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Updated for 2017: We now have a full self-guided exhibit tour, historic elevator, wonderful craft cocktails, and the original amazing views. Come back and join us soon!
Warm regards, Smith Tower Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have been to the Space Needle and it is okay, but The Smith Tower is much more architecturally significant, built in 1913 and finished in 1914 it was one of the world's first skyscrapers and at the time was the tallest building in the world outside of NYC! It Has a better view of downtown, the harbor, the Puget Sound (the Olympic Mountains and Mt. Rainer on a clear day) even the Space Needle viewed between the downtown buildings. It is also only $7 to go to the observation deck. You take elevator #7 from the ornate hall with brass walls and Native American carved faces on the walls. You pay your fee once you are at the top. The elevator ride is a historic experience in itself -and run manually by an attendant- in it's original glorious condition. The observation deck wraps 360 degrees around the building and is open air. It's awesome to feel the breezes on a warm summer day and take in the beautiful views in every direction. The best part is that it is not crowded at all, no waiting line. The day we were there was a Monday and I estimated there were only 15 people during the 90 minutes we spent on the observation deck. On this level (35th floor) inside is the Chinese Room. The ceiling is entirely hand-carved Teakwood, and there is ornately carved Blackwood furniture that is still maintained exactly as it was in 1914. They have a wishing chair which has carved dragon and a phoenix on it, which combined, portends marriage. The chair comes with the legend that any wishful unmarried woman who sits in it will be married within the year. There you have it! This is a very beautiful building, I highly recommend this visit vs. the Space Needle.

Thank traveltheworld012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woody B, General Manager at Smith Tower, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Updated for 2017: We now have a full self-guided exhibit tour, historic elevator, wonderful craft cocktails, and the original amazing views. Come back and join us soon!
Warm regards, Smith Tower Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smith Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing