We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, Charming Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Elegant, Charming Hotel”
Reviewed March 15, 2009

I stayed here on my anniversary last year and loved every minute of it. The spacious rooms are decorated with elegant antique furniture and beautiful chandeliers and lamps. The beds are super comfortable and the bathrooms were clean with wonderful showers. The lobby was beautiful and picture-perfect. I have attended a Christmas party here before and it was very elegant. Around Christmas the lobby is decorated with gorgeous trees and festive decor.

The location is a little further from shopping than I'd like to walk, but it is conveniently located near the financial district. Shucker's restaurant on the lower level has amazing seafood. I would recommend eating lunch here instead of dinner to save a few bucks. Many of the area restaurants cater to business-travellers so they are closed on weekends. I would recommen Purple Cafe & Wine Bar a few blocks away for a nice lunch with a huge variety of wines, and Tulio Italian Restaurant for a great dinner.

Parking is valet only and is a bit pricey.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCoast787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,895
    715
    202
    77
    42
See reviews for
619
1,083
146
704
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Nice hotel with a nice location. I would recommend for people over the age of 40. We had gift certificates for two nights and found the hotel nice. It does need a renovation though... no flat screen tv, a hole in the couch and the carpet is a bit worn. If you are under the age of 40 and want something hipper, the Hilton and Sheraton are just around the corner.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Fairmont over Valentine's/President's Day weekend and loved every minute of it. The hotel is elegant in the traditional sense - understated, not over the top like The Fairmont in San Francisco.

Our room was good-sized and well laid-out. And the bed! One of the most comfortable I have ever slept in! Loved the white marble in the bathroom. My only criticism was that the curtains were a little too flowery - traditional decor can become old lady with too many flowers. The hotel has a wonderful gym with a view over the indoor pool and beautiful arched windows. We appreciated the very fast, and free, Internet service.

The hotel staff was attentive, but not overly. Dinner at Shuckers was amazing, and they had the best oysters we tried in Seattle - and we ate them at quite a few different places. The hotel is well-located downtown, and we could walk to everything except Fremont. Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2009

We stay here a lot but my most recent time was probably the best. Well, here are my pros and cons.

Pros-
Pool/fitness center is small but relaxing.
Pool is kid friendly because it has pool toys.
Rooms are big and clean.
Old, but in a good way.
Very helpful staff.

Cons-
Pancakes there are really dry.
Elevators are small and slow.
Try not to order room service or eat at one of their restaurants. Food quality is good but it is super EXPENSIVE!!

Bottom line: Service and staff are amazing but everything is expensive.

  • Liked — Service, staff and pool
  • Disliked — Dry pancakes and prices
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Falcon123Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

Stayed for two nights. Room was nicely decorated but a bit bland. Room service was good.

Great location for the water front and shopping.

The staff was always acomidating and helpful.

The work out center/changing rooms were clean and appointed with many amenities. And you can even borrow work out gear or swim suits.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Our room didn't have a good view of the water
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Beautiful hotel, great service( except for the bartender Sunday night who was a bit abrubt and impatient when i was deciding on my drink). We made the reservation in person while staying at another Seattle location and got a great deal. Executive suite with 2 twin beds for $299 with a $100 Visa gift card!
Well appointed suite but no coffee maker in room. Hotel did provide a tea kettle at no charge when requested. Comfortable beds. Could hear traffic, even from the 10th floor though. Woke me up in the AM but I am a light sleeper anyway. Could hear some noise from adjacent rooms but not much. Doorman was very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Decor, classy relaxed ambience
  • Disliked — Some noise from outside
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovefur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Fairmont Olympic Hotel in Seattle on New Year's Eve so as to avoid exorburant cab fees back to the suburbs. We were really impressed with the high quality of service during check-in, which was a breeze. The room was a King Suite with one of the most comfortable beds I've slept on in a hotel in a long while. The room was well appointed and spacious. We had a enough room to pop a bottle of champagne and relax before going out on the town.

The on-site food was extremely expensive, however there are a lot of other food options in the near vincinity...we walked across the street to Beni Hana's for a fantastic meal. Unfortunately, the room's mini-bar fridge is not ideal for storing left overs. Check with the front desk for a fridge.

Be advised that the demographic we observed at this hotel is 50+, so if you're in for a more relaxed, slower-paced environment...this is the place. Enjoy!

  • Liked — Historical building with rich local history.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustaTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,021 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Property: The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101-2507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
#16 Green Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing