We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
368 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic Hotel”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

It is raining when we arrive at the Fairmont Hotel in downtown Seattle where we are greeted by a uniformed Doorman who opens our cab door for us and a porter who takes our luggage. The check-in process is friendly, fast, and efficient. The woman at the Concierge desk was knowledgeable, accommodating, and provided service with a smile. Our 10th floor king-deluxe room was spacious and comfortable. It had plenty of electrical outlets for us to charge our electronic devices. The second floor has a fitness center with a heated indoor pool and hot tub. What a treat to stay at the Fairmont!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,860
    702
    198
    77
    41
See reviews for
603
1,061
146
694
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
227 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The Fairmont in Seattle was the end spot for our up the west coast road trip.This hotel is one I would call a grande dame. A great stay in an outstanding hotel. We used the Amex Platinum hotel benefits for 3 nights at the price of 2 along with breakfast each morning and credit along with a room upgrade and $100.00 dining credit. They had two very nice restaurants. The service was outstanding and the public spaces were beautiful. They provided a free Town car ride to various landmarks such as the Space needle. A grand experience.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a large and well appointed room. It was grand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Have stayed here twice and both times have been pleasant experiences. The hotel is very centrally located and is walking distance to most things in the downtown area. There is a large U-shaped driveway that can accommodate a number of cars arriving at the same time which makes the check-in process a little easier. You have to take an escalator up to the lobby area but it is a very grand space that is very festive and the Christmas season. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are very tastefully decorated -comfortable yet elegant. Overall I would say this is an excellent hotel if you have to be in the downtown Seattle area.

Room Tip: Upgraded to the corner suite - very spacious for entertaining guests with a very classy homey atmosp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masterphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympicSEA, Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to write. I am glad to read that your stay was an enjoyable one and that you were able to experience the hotel dressed up for the holidays. It appreciate you pointing out that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and that your room was comfortable and appointed to your expectations. We are always striving for excellence and personal service, and it is very rewarding when our guests take the time to let us know they are pleased.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Seattle in the future.

Best wishes in the New Year,

Guy Bittner
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
708 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

The Fairmont Olympic shines as a beacon for visitors to the city and for residents, as well. A beautiful lobby holds the largest fresh Christmas tree decorated beautifully, if you visit during the Holidays and each ballroom, restaurant and landing has it's own tree. Flowers and lights add to the beautiful setting everywhere. The Hotel annually features a Teddy Bear Suite decorated for the Holidays in festive style. Visits to this 3rd floor suite are complimentary but a donation to Children's Hospital is appreciated.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank larrchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

There isn't a more beautiful hotel in Seattle! The stunning foyer is even more magical at Christmas time with the huge Christmas tree on display. The rooms are well appointed, the bathroom amenities are nice, and the location is great for exploring downtown Seattle. Don't hesitate to give this hotel a try!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westvanclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Love the Fairmont as do all my colleagues. We visited as a group again (how many times? I've lost count). The Fairmont is a first rank hotel and yet totally friendly and un-snobby. Love the. staff attitude, friendly and helpful in every way.

Exec suite room, familiar comfort, wonderful bed, all amenities. Extra K-cup coffee provided as soon as I asked. I really feel at home here.

We also used a meeting room for an all afternoon meeting of about 15 people. Facilities setup was great, coffee and snacks, projector, all efficient and problem free.

Love the bar. Michael the bartender is famous for his award-winning martinis. It is a tradition in our group to have the "Baha blue" for our December trips but be warned, round after round of these will make you totally unwilling to leave...

Just steps away from the hotel are several excellent restaurants. The two closest are the Capital Grill (high end steakhouse) and Tuliio's (mid range Italian), both excellent. About 5 minutes away is Wild Ginger which has the best wine list for an Asian restaurant that I can recall.

All in all, this is a great base for Seattle.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetlife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Impressive entrance and foyer with beautiful Christmas decorations, this is a grand hotel but not stuffy; warm and welcoming expecially after a 9 hour flight from London - this is my sort of hotel I said to my husband! Reception was particularly kind upgrading us to a fabulous corner room, after learning that my suitcase had been left behind in a London. Within 2 minutes a lovely bag full of overnight goodies had been sent to my room. The beds were so comfortable with a high thread count of Egyptian cotton bedding - lovely ! The next morning the concierge couldn't go to enough trouble to help me and sent both email and texts with details of appointments he booked for me.
Bill the head doorman was terrific, once he knew our name every time we stepped out he greeted us personally, gave us immaculate directions and when my case eventually arrived he made sure it went straight to my room.
There's no finer place to be when sleepless in Seattle, due to jet lag!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannaflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
2,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
2,623 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Property: The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101-2507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#16 Green Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing