We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surface beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 25, 2013

There's no denying that this is beautiful and well taken care of. The rooms are gorgeous, and the bathroom is a very decent size. Always a plus when you're a girl and and travelling with an arsenal of makeup and beauty products.

So I had a problem one night, i went down to the reception to speak to the agent. He was too prompt in telling me he'd take care of it. No apology, just a curt we'll take care of it. While he stayed true to his word, the lack of empathy was surprising. It wasn't something I expected from such a prestigious hotel.

The staff are what make a hotel a home away from home, and in this instance, I did not feel it at all! Breakfast was okay, again not what Id expect from a hotel in its class.


Just a note: this hotel caters more to upscale older travellers. It might not be so fun for a younger, hip crowd.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,147 - 2,153 of 3,163 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

I worked for several months on a family business trip for our entire group of 20 with Mary Eichholtz. She was phenomenal at understanding what our needs were and catered to our every whim! Every team member we encountered were extremely friendly and accommodating from the first day to the last (five days total).

The structure itself was the original University of Washington and is still in elegant, pristine condition and the rooms were very comfortable and roomy. The location of the Fairmont is easy walking to Pikes Place Market and everything else downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonesboysmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed for 1 night on business. The carpet had a big lump in it which was the first turn off. The second, was I was on the second floor and the windows are old, so heard a lot of noise, but opted to stay since just one night and thought maybe the AC would hide the noise. That part was not bad. However, when I went to take a shower to get ready for work there was no hot water. I continued to run it but it still didn't warm up so had to take a quick cooler shower. When I checked out, a little bit later, they asked if everything was ok so I said I did not have hot water. The woman said "oh, you were on the second floor". That was it. I then said, "so are you addressing it?" She said "no" and shrugged her shoulders like "oh well". Would not stay on second floor. They also do not have any coffee or water in the lobby as most hotels offer in the AM complimentary. Otherwise, nice location.

Room Tip: Stay away from 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Headed4theBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thanks for letting us know about your stay. We are truly sorry that the response you got to the issue you reported regarding hot water was not immediately addressed. I wil share your note with our front desk team.

Also, we do offer Keurig coffee makers in each guest room (there is complimentary coffee in the 2nd floor health club if you prefer), based on guest feedback as a preference to have coffee available in each individual room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

By far, from all of the hotels that I have stayed at in the Seattle area, this one was by far the best one ever! The hotel was totally modern and super super clean. The staff were super nice and the service was outstanding!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HONdominik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Fairmont chain never disappoints! This hotel is no exception, the staff, the dining and the ambiance are all exceptional! Take time to sit in the lobby bar, the food is exceptional and the pianist is unbelievable! It's a great way to end ( or even spend) your evening! The one thing to be careful about is which side of the hotel your room is on, we recently spent two nights there and had one night with a quiet room, then when we came back from Oregon and had our second night, we had quite a bit of traffic noise. I'm sure if you request the water view you will avoid the traffic noise!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelloveryvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

We love to hear that you enjoyed every part of your stay! Thank you so much for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Seattle again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel was beautiful and so was the room it was clean and well furnished. We found the doormen and the staff in Shuckers restaurant very helpful and friendly however we found the desk staff to be aloof and the concierge not very helpful not willing to make a simple local phone call for us. We just didn't get that welcome feeling we had at other hotels we stayed in while on holiday in Canada and America.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifesforlivingnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write about your recent stay. We appreciate your kind comments, but are concerned to note that our concierge did not make you feel welcome. I have seen them gladly call restaurants and arrange everything from a flower delivery to a coveted restaurant reservation, to arrangements at a local beauty salon. I am sorry to hear you did not perceive the same level of service from every one of our staff members, who do strive to welcome and engage with every guest. We hope you will consider us again the next time your travels bring you the Northwest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This historic hotel takes your breath with its sense of style. The lobby is very charming.
Up the escalator from the drive in.
We were upgraded to a small suite which was very attractive and comfortable.
American shallow tub not so good,and single pane window let reflected street noise in rather.
The air con is behind the curtains so not great.
Housekeeping ,porters and most staff of very high quality.
Doormen and concierge were outstanding.
Despite being President Club member we did not get a delivered newspaper, but did get the upgrade and free wi fi. Still trying to get points....
The swim pool, inside, is very shallow and rather small.Only 2 mens showers.
The best part was getting the service of the hotel courtesy car (big BMW) for short trips in town on a first come bassis.Excellent service.
The lobby bar was fine,with pianist, the coffee shop in lower lobby decent, but best was "Shuckers" the sea food bar also in the lower lobby. Compact but fun with great food.
Our waiter Jay, was outstanding and rather showed the others up.
We ate there twice and failed to score one of the wall booths!
The oysters looked epic,as were the scallops.A crab and prawn salad great.
The bank of ?5 elevators were fast.
We did not use the main restaurant or room service.
So not quite 5 blobs but a very pleasant hotel with style and charm.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 104 in Seattle
3,246 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 104 in Seattle
2,099 reviews
Belltown
Pan Pacific Seattle
Pan Pacific Seattle
#16 of 104 in Seattle
1,609 reviews
Belltown
The Westin Seattle
The Westin Seattle
#43 of 104 in Seattle
2,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101-2507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#15 Family Hotel in Seattle
#16 Green Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $200 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing