We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Nearby Hotels
$304
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Mediterranean Inn(Seattle)
$258
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$229
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$236
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$283
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,313)
Filter reviews
3,313 results
Traveler rating
2,162
792
223
87
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,162
792
223
87
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeorgian roomgeorgian restaurantpresident's clubshuckers restaurantan executive suitebeautiful hotelhealth clubroom servicefour seasonsconcierge desklobby barpike place marketcar servicefitness centercorner roomthe location is perfectstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
2,411 - 2,416 of 3,313 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

While we really liked the location and the gym was well set up as was the pool and hot tub, we had some challenges. The fridge wasn't working when we arrived and neither was the shower head although they were both fixed when we reported the problems. The heating system was annoyingly loud. There were also communication frustrations, e.g we spoke to the concierge in advance and were told the Hotel car does not pick up from The Clipper but after we arrived, a valet said they do. We did have a terrific time in The Terrace Lounge with wonderful waitress Pegge who served up great stories and delicious food.

All in all though we did not find this to be a our best Fairmont experience (and we do love Fairmonts) so on our next trip to Seattle i suspect we will be looking to check out another hotel. Did like Seattle so we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dreve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a short trip and loved it.

The staff are exceptional. Their politeness, friendliness and reliability is unbeatable. They couldn't have been more helpful or welcoming.

The pool and gym facilities are top notch. We were there on off season so it was really nice and quiet. The changing rooms have everything you could possibly need (including deodorant, mouthwash and ladyshave!).

The decor is of a more old fashioned style which is beautiful and grand but means the huge bedrooms can feel a little too spacious and less cosy - more room for dust. The beds are amazingly comfortable though, and the cleaning staff couldn't have been more efficient - we even came back to our room one day to find all our dirty laundry piled up (to our horror)!

The hotel is in a prime location in the centre of town - short walk to Pike Place Market, the Monorail to the Space needle and the main shops (Macy's etc). This of course means that there is more traffic and more noise but with the Jetlag (I'm from England) I was up at 6am anyway so it didn't bother me.

We had breakfast in the hotel a couple of times (at the Georgian restaurant) and while it was expensive it was possibly one of the best quality breakfasts I've had in the USA. The continental buffet has every imaginable pastry and gallons of fresh fruit such as raspberries, strawberries, melon and mango. We had drinks in the hotel bar (Terrace) which was a nice area to chill out after a long day, and we ventured to Shuckers to taste some fresh baked Oysters which was a really cosy Irish-pub style place.

I can't comment on the price as we weren't the ones paying but imagine it's pretty pricey, Overall fantastic experience and would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors will probably have less noise from traffic.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimruffelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Good attributes: close to shopping, live theatre, Pike Market, Monorail, SAM and good restaurants. Gym is very very well equipped compared to other Fairmonts we have visited. Cardio equip comes with headphones in case you forget yours. View of pool. Pool is small but very nice with welcoming patio tables and waterfall. Staff try very hard to please. Buildings surrounding hotel are architecturally beautiful.
Not so good attributes: one of the original Fairmonts and wall tall in its time but sadly the eleven story building is now very overshadowed by neighbouring skyscrapers. We tried many rooms and suites and there are no good views for this hotel. The hallways are wallpapered yellow and light blue. The rooms feel dated. The bathrooms (even the renovated ones 5th and 11th floor) are dated with old small plastic bathtubs with shower curtains. No seamless glass here. This hotel is not modern. the lobby feels tight and short. When entering the building, one is in a very small entrance room and proceeds up to the main lobby. Similar to entering through a very ice basement but not very posh. And on arrival to the main lobby, one is disappointed as it is not a grand lobby by the older style Fairmonts. So this hotel lacks the grandness of the original Fairmonts and also lacks the modern features of the new Fairmonts.
Over all it still is a nice hotel but I would definitely choose the Four Seasons in Seattle over the Olympic Fairmont
Over all it still is a nice hotel but I would definitely choose the Four Seasons in Seattle over the Olympic Fairmont The buffet breakfast is about $25 each. Very simple eggs and bacon waiting in trays with fruit and cereal. don’t expect crepes , sushi, or fresh omelettes. It is a very basic breakfast but adequate. The service for the breakfast is poor with very little and attendance. I wouldn’t recommend the breakfast actually

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoriatraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here for a night out with the wife after watching a show at the 5th Ave theater. The room was great and the staff was awesome.

Highlights:
Forgot my athletic socks but the fitness center gave me a pair.

Fitness center and pool is amazing! The locker rooms pamper you with shaving supplies, sauna, and great showers.

Beds were like sleeping on clouds.

Belle Epicurean on premises had the most delicious breakfast sandwich I've ever had.

Complementary post cards and postage from the concierge.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotSoup77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

thank you for your feedback on your stay! We are glad to hear you were able to use the Fitness Center and our staff were able to help you with items that you forgot. In fact, our Fairmont President's Club members (free to join, takes 2 minutes to sign up) can request "Fairmont Fit" clothing and shoes delivered to their room to avoid having to pack bulky workout clothes. We hope you come back and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed here on feb 13-14th. Great staff. Awesome room. Very very loud street below. Don't expect to sleep in - too many honking horns and road construction. I know it's in the city which can add a certain ambiance to those who look for it, but it was seriously deafening at times. We were even all the way up on the 5th floor! Will stay again, but will get a courtyard view with a higher up room to avoid the noise.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ZietzkeCrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that the noise level (for a city hotel, some is to be expected, but it sounded like it was a constant) was a bother. We are one of the few hotels that offers windows that open...we are hopeful that a planned window replacement in 2013 will increase energy efficiency and cut down significantly on outside noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews